The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Kent County

Politicians who died in Kent County

  Kent County (no city given): Jehu Davis, 1802
  Adamsville: Charles M. Adams, 1899
  Camden: John Hunn, 1926
  Clayton: Franklin Brockson, 1942
  Dover, 1700-1799: Dyre Kearney, 1791 — James Sykes, 1792
  Dover, 1800-1899: James Sykes, 1822 — Nicholas Ridgely, 1830 — Henry M. Ridgely, 1847 — John M. Clayton, 1856 — Martin Waltham Bates, 1869 — Charles Brown, 1883 — Willard Saulsbury, Sr., 1892 — Joseph P. Comegys, 1893 — Eli Saulsbury, 1893 — Nathaniel B. Smithers, 1896 — James L. Wolcott, 1898
  Dover, 1900-1999: John B. Penington, 1902 — Wilson L. Cannon, 1905 — Reynolds Clough, 1918 — Merrill H. Tilghman, 1927 — Harry A. Richardson, 1928 — Richard R. Kenney, 1931 — Simeon S. Pennewill, 1935 — Douglass C. Allee, 1937 — J. Frank Allee, 1938 — Josiah O. Wolcott, 1938 — John M. Houston, 1941 — William H. Boyce, 1942 — T. Clayton Horsey, 1949 — E. Paul Burkholder, 1950 — William C. Paradee, 1957 — Roy Allen Cannon, 1963 — Sudler H. King, 1968 — Charles L. Terry, Jr., 1970 — Jesse S. Cooper, Jr., 1971 — Harry E. Mayhew, 1972 — Henry J. Ridgely, 1990 — Walton H. Simpson, 1993
  Near Dover: John Patten, 1800 — Daniel M. Ridgely, 1937
  Duck Creek (now Smyrna): John Cook, 1789 — Thomas Collins, 1789
  Felton: George Truitt, 1818 — Samuel C. Hughes, 1936
  Frederica: John W. Hall, 1892
  Hartly: Roger A. Davis, 1967 — Roger E. Davis, 1993
  Milford: Charles Polk, 1857 — James R. Lofland, 1894 — John W. Causey, 1908 — George W. Marshall, 1915 — Sherman W. Tribbitt, 2010
  Near Petersburg: Robert J. Reynolds, 1909
  Smyrna: John H. Hoffecker, 1900 — William H. Baggs, 1908 — Walter O. Hoffecker, 1934 — Clifford Pryor, 1984
  Near Smyrna: John Fisher, 1823
  Wyoming: Charles du Pont Ridgely, 1966
   See also Delaware deathplaces not assigned to counties.

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/DE/KE-died.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]