The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Connecticut: State Treasurers

Connecticut State Treasurers, 1789-2002 (May be incomplete!)
Jedediah Huntington 1789-90 Peter Colt 1790-94 Andrew Kingsbury 1794-1818 Isaac Spencer 1818-35 Jeremiah Brown 1835-38 Hiram Rider 1838-42 Jabez L. White, Jr. 1842-44 Joseph B. Gilbert 1844-46 Alonzo W. Birge 1846-47 Joseph B. Gilbert 1847-49 Henry D. Smith 1849-51 Thomas Clark 1851-52 Edwin Stearns 1852-54 Daniel Camp 1854-55 Arthur B. Calef 1855-56 Frederick P. Coe 1856-57 Frederick S. Wildman 1857-58 Lucius J. Hendee 1858-61 Ezra Dean 1861-62 Gabriel W. Coite 1862-66 Henry G. Taintor 1866-67 Edward S. Moseley 1867-68 David P. Nichols 1869-70 Charles M. Pond 1870-71 David P. Nichols 1871-73 William E. Raymond 1873-77 Edwin A. Buck 1877-79 Talmadge Baker 1879-81 David P. Nichols 1881-82 James D. Smith 1882-83 Alfred R. Goodrich 1883-85 Valentine B. Chamberlain 1885-87 Alexander Warner 1887-89 E. Stevens Henry 1889-93 Marvin H. Sanger 1893-95 George W. Hodge 1895-97 Charles W. Grosvenor 1897-99 Charles S. Mersick 1899-1901 Henry H. Gallup 1901-05 James F. Walsh 1905-07 Freeman F. Patten 1907-11 Costello Lippitt 1911-13 Edward S. Roberts 1913-15 Frederick S. Chamberlain 1915-19 G. Harold Gilpatric 1919-24 Anson T. McCook 1924 Ernest E. Rogers 1925-29 Samuel R. Spencer 1929-31 Roy C. Wilcox 1931-33 J. William Hope 1933-35 John S. Addis 1935-37 Thomas Hewes 1937 Guy B. Holt 1937-39 Joseph E. Talbot 1939-41 Frank M. Anastasio 1941-43 Carl M. Sharpe 1943-45 William T. Carroll 1945-47 Joseph A. Adorno 1947-55 John Ottaviano, Jr. 1955-59 John A. Speziale 1959-61 Donald J. Irwin 1961-63 Gerald A. Lamb 1963-70 John A. Iorio 1970-71 Robert I. Berdon 1971-73 Alden A. Ives 1973-75 Henry E. Parker 1975-86 Joan R. Kemler 1986-87 Francisco L. Borges 1987-93 Joseph M. Suggs, Jr. 1993-95 Christopher B. Burnham 1995-97 Paul J. Silvester 1997-99 Denise L. Nappier 1999-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1845 Apr 7: Joseph B. Gilbert (Whig), elected; Alonzo W. Birge (Dem), defeated.
  • 1882 Jan 2: David P. Nichols, died in office.
  • 1924 Aug 16: G. Harold Gilpatric, resigned; Anson T. McCook, appointed.
  • 1934: John S. Addis (Dem), elected.
  • 1937 Sep 29: John S. Addis, died in office.
  • 1944: William T. Carroll (Dem), elected.
  • 1961 Nov 15: John A. Speziale, resigned.
  • 1961 Nov 20: Donald J. Irwin, appointed.
  • 1970 Feb 11: Gerald A. Lamb, resigned; John A. Iorio, appointed.
  • 1973 Jun 28: Robert I. Berdon, resigned.
  • 1973 Jun 29: Alden A. Ives, appointed.
  • 1986 Feb 3: Henry E. Parker, resigned; Joan R. Kemler, appointed.
  • 1993 Mar 1: Francisco L. Borges, resigned.
  • 1993 Mar 3: Joseph M. Suggs, Jr., appointed.
  • 1997 Jul 22: Christopher B. Burnham, resigned; Paul J. Silvester, appointed.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/ofc/trea.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]