The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Windham County

Politicians who were born in Windham County

  Abington, Pomfret: Benjamin Ruggles, 1783
  Ashford: Elias Keyes, 1758 — Charles L. Dean, 1844 — Arthur E. James, c.1855 — Oscar D. Baker, 1867 — James E. A. Knowlton, c.1867 — Frank W. Morey, c.1868 — Walter E. Clark, 1869 — John H. Trumbull, 1873
  Ashford (part now in Eastford): Galusha A. Grow, 1823
  Brooklyn: Elijah Paine, 1757 — Daniel P. Tyler, 1798 — Waldo Hutchins, 1822 — Flavel S. Luther, 1850 — William E. Keach, 1857 — Levi N. Clark, 1863 — Oscar F. Atwood, c.1867
  Canterbury: Ephraim Paine, 1730 — Elisha Payne, 1730 — John Bacon, 1738 — Moses Cleveland, 1754 — Ephraim Safford, 1769 — Luther Jewett, 1772 — William D. Williamson, 1779 — Elisha Litchfield, 1785 — James Kingsley, 1796 — Chauncey F. Cleveland, 1799 — Loren P. Waldo, 1802 — James Safford, 1802 — Horace Austin, 1831 — Sessions L. Adams, c.1855 — Andrew T. J. Clarke, 1860 — Clinton E. Frink, 1884 — Nelson L. Carpenter, c.1910
  Danielson, Killingly: Eli G. Lague, 1881 — George L. Ingalls, 1914 — Robert T. Marland, 1918
  East Killingly, Killingly: Costello Lippitt, 1842
  East Woodstock, Woodstock: Amasa Walker, 1799
  Eastford: Andrew T. Judson, 1784 — F. Ernest Watkins, c.1858
  Goodyear, Killingly: T. Emmet Clarie, 1913
  Hampton: Henry G. Taintor, 1813 — Edward S. Cleveland, 1825 — George A. Hammond, c.1842 — William Henry Barnes, 1843 — Vine R. Franklin, 1843
  Killingly: Manasseh Cutler, 1742 — Amasa Learned, 1750 — Ebenezer Young, 1783 — William Gaston, 1820 — William S. Knox, 1843 — Milton A. Shumway, c.1849 — Frank P. Warren, c.1853 — John M. Dowe, 1896
  Moosup, Plainfield: Charles J. Parsons, c.1867
  North Windham, Windham: Merritt Welch, c.1881
  Plainfield: Nathan Fellows Dixon, 1774 — Isaac Backus, 1789 — James Wright Gordon, 1809 — William A. Barstow, 1813 — James Monroe, 1821 — Joseph Hutchins, c.1822 — Augustus S. Miller, 1847
  Pomfret: Asa Lyon, 1763 — Judah Dana, 1772 — Jedediah Sabin, 1774 — Thomas P. Grosvenor, 1778 — John Osgood, 1782 — John Paine Cushman, 1784 — Augustus S. Chase, 1828 — Henry Sabin, 1829 — Charles H. Grosvenor, 1833 — Charles W. Grosvenor, 1839 — Charles N. Taintor, 1840 — Charles E. Searls, 1846
  Putnam: Lewis C. Carpenter, 1836 — Charles J. Harris, 1853 — William Perry Barber, 1907 — William St. Onge, 1914
  Scotland: William F. Palmer, c.1825 — Erasmus Darwin Tracy, 1836
  South Woodstock, Woodstock: Asa R. Scranton, Jr., 1879
  Sterling Hill, Sterling: Herbert E. Winsor, 1850
  Thompson: Simon Larned, 1753 — George W. Davis, 1839 — Thomas O. Elliott, 1842 — Isaac N. Mills, 1851 — Charles F. Thayer, 1852 — Rudolph H. Chandler, 1853 — Augustine Lonergan, 1874 — Raymond S. Thatcher, 1903
  Warrenville, Ashford: Raymond O. Baker, c.1897
  West Woodstock, Woodstock: Jared W. Williams, 1796 — Henry J. Potter, 1850 — George E. Chamberlin, 1872
  Willimantic: John M. Hall, c.1842 — Margaret C. Hurley, 1882 — Walter C. Brown, 1890 — Claude A. Mills, c.1895 — Christopher J. Dodd, 1944
  Willimantic, Windham: Howard C. Brown, 1839 — Fred C. Tilden, 1877
  Windham: Eliphalet Dyer, 1721 — Samuel Huntington, 1731 — Sanford Kingsbury, 1743 — James Strong, 1783 — William Hebard, 1800 — William F. Allen, 1808 — Alfred A. Burnham, 1819 — William F. Gates, c.1837 — Edwin R. Allen, 1840 — Daniel P. Dunn, 1859
  Woodstock: William Eaton, 1764 — Samuel C. Crafts, 1768 — Aaron N. Skinner, 1800 — Henry C. Bowen, 1813 — John Mathewson, c.1844 — Everett Lake, 1871
   See also Connecticut birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/WI-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]