The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
El Paso County

El Paso County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in El Paso County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in El Paso County: [none currently in database]

El Paso County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1876, St. Louis: D. J. Martin
   1912, Baltimore: Anna B. Pitzer
   1916, St. Louis: H. F. Avery — Lemuel Gammon
   1924, New York: Chester B. Horn
   1936, Philadelphia: J. A. McCoy
   1940, Chicago: H. F. Benson — G. B. Chandler
   1944, Chicago: J. C. Jarrett — Mrs. Surilda McClaskey
   1948, Philadelphia: H. F. Benson
   1952, Chicago: Leonard v. B. Sutton
   1956, Chicago: Herman Davis — Austin Hoyt
   1960, Los Angeles: Joan Kushnir — Frank Onufrock — Leo Rector
   1968, Chicago: Norton Bain — Paul Bechtol — Elaine Freed — William Hochman — Robert Maytag
   1972, Miami Beach: Janice Blakely — Luis Cortez
   1980, New York: Bill Comer — Thomas E. Cronin — Irene L. Kornelly — Norman Piedger — Anton Zafereo
   1996, Chicago: Michael Beatty — Lorilei L. Bourell — Richard Charles Jarrett — Raymond R. Mann — Adam Speer — Connie Townsend
   2004, Boston: Diane Benning — Ed Raye — Christy Stoddard — Patsy Wurster
   2008, Denver: Jason DeGroot — Brenda S. Krause — Michael J. Maday — Benjamin N. Taber — James Tucker — Lynn M. Young
Republican National Conventions:
   1876, Cincinnati: Henry McAllister
   1884, Chicago: B. F. Crowell
   1888, Chicago: Irving Howbert
   1904, Chicago: Emma Eldredge — Spencer Penrose
   1908, Chicago: William Lennox
   1912, Chicago: Irving Howbert
   1916, Chicago: Spencer Penrose — Philip B. Stewart
   1920, Chicago: Clarence C. Hamlin — Oliver H. Shoup
   1924, Cleveland: S. H. Kinsley
   1928, Kansas City: William E. McClung
   1932, Chicago: George Dodge — Charles L. Tutt
   1936, Cleveland: Charles J. Simon
   1940, Philadelphia: George G. Birdsall
   1948, Philadelphia: William E. Higby
   1964, San Francisco: Lorene Englert
   1972, Miami Beach: Mrs. Marion Carter — Harvey R. Vieth
   1988, New Orleans: Preston White
   2004, New York: Anna Bartha — Vickie Broerman — Peggy Littleton — Cindy Murphy — Dave Schultheis — Amy Stephens
   2008, St. Paul: Robert Balink — Kristy Burton — Jack Gloriod — Kent Lambert — Robert McCombs — John Suthers — Summer Vanderbilt — Wayne Williams
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CO/EP-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]