The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
California: State Supreme Court

Justices of the California State Supreme Court, 1849-2001 (May be incomplete!)
Nathaniel Bennett 1849-51 S. Clinton Hastings 1849-51 Henry A. Lyons 1849-52 Hugh C. Murray 1851-57 Solomon Heydenfeldt 1852-57 Alexander Anderson 1852-53 Alexander Wells 1853-54 Charles H. Bryan 1854-55 David S. Terry 1855-59 Peter H. Burnett 1857-58 Stephen J. Field 1857-63 Joseph G. Baldwin 1858-61 Warner W. Cope 1859-63 Edward Norton 1862-63 Edwin B. Crocker 1863 John Currey 1864- Augustus L. Rhodes 1864- Lorenzo Sawyer 1864-69 Oscar L. Shafter 1864-67 Joseph B. Crockett 1867-80 John R. Sharpstein 1880-92 Erskine Mayo Ross 1880-86 Jackson Temple 1886-89 John D. Works 1888-91 Thomas B. McFarland as of 1889-95 Van R. Paterson 1889-94 James D. Thornton 1889-91 Charles N. Fox 1889-90 John J. DeHaven 1890-95 C. H. Garoutte 1891-95 Ralph C. Harrison 1891-1903 William F. Fitzgerald 1893-95 William C. Van Fleet 1894-95 F. W. Henshaw 1895 Jackson Temple 1895-1902 Frank M. Angellotti as of 1903-15 Lucien Shaw as of 1903-23 M. C. Sloss 1906-19 Warren Olney, Jr. as of 1919-21 Curtis Dwight Wilbur as of 1919-24 Louis Westcott Myers as of 1923-26 Jesse W. Curtis as of 1926-31 Frank G. Finlayson 1926 John E. Richards as of 1926-31 Emmett Seawell as of 1926-31 John W. Shenk as of 1926-31 Jermia F. Sullivan 1926-27 John W. Preston, Sr. 1926-35 William H. Langdon 1927-39 Nathaniel P. Conrey 1935-36 Jesse W. Carter 1939 Roger J. Traynor 1940-63 Marshall Francis McComb as of 1956-77 Maurice T. Dooling, Jr. as of 1960-62 Mathew O. Tobriner 1962-82 Stanley Mosk 1964-2001 Raymond L. Sullivan as of 1966-75 William P. Clark as of 1973-81 Frank K. Richardson as of 1974-83 Frank C. Newman 1977-82 Malcolm M. Lucas as of 1984-87

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1854 Oct 31: Alexander Wells, died in office.
  • 1857 Sep 18: Hugh C. Murray, died in office.
  • 1879: John R. Sharpstein (Dem), elected.
  • 1882: John R. Sharpstein (Dem), elected.
  • 1892 Dec 27: John R. Sharpstein, died in office.
  • 1894 May 7: William C. Van Fleet, appointed.
  • 1902 Nov 4: Frank M. Angellotti (Rep), elected; Lucien Shaw (Rep), elected.
  • 1902 Dec 25: Jackson Temple, died in office.
  • 1936 Nov 2: Nathaniel P. Conrey, died in office.
  • 1939 Aug 10: William H. Langdon, died in office.
  • 1939 Sep 12: Jesse W. Carter, appointed.
  • 1964: Stanley Mosk, appointed.
  • 2001 Jun 19: Stanley Mosk, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CA/ofc/spju.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]