The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
California: Lieutenant Governors

Lieutenant Governors of California, 1849-2011 (May be incomplete!)
John McDougal 1849-51 David C. Broderick 1851-52 Samuel Purdy 1852-56 Robert M. Anderson 1856-58 John Walkup 1858-60 John G. Downey 1860 Isaac N. Quinn 1860-61 Pablo de la Guerra 1861-62 John F. Chellis 1862-63 Timothy N. Machin 1863-67 William Holden 1867-71 Romualdo Pacheco 1871-75 William Irwin 1875 James A. Johnson 1875-80 John Mansfield 1880-83 John Daggett 1883-87 Robert W. Waterman 1887 Stephen M. White 1887-91 John B. Reddick 1891-95 Spencer G. Millard 1895 William T. Jeter 1895-99 Jacob H. Neff 1899-1903 Alden Anderson 1903-07 Warren R. Porter 1907-11 A. J. Wallace 1911-15 John M. Eshleman 1915-16 William D. Stephens 1916-17 C. C. Young 1919-27 Buron Fitts 1927-28 Herschel L. Carnahan 1928-31 Frank F. Merriam 1931-34 George J. Hatfield 1935-39 Ellis E. Patterson 1939-43 Frederick F. Houser 1943-47 Goodwin J. Knight 1947-53 Harold J. Powers 1953-59 Glenn M. Anderson 1959-67 Robert H. Finch 1967-69 Ed Reinecke 1969-74 John L. Harmer 1974-75 Mervyn M. Dymally 1975-79 Mike Curb 1979-83 Leo T. McCarthy 1983-95 Gray Davis 1995-99 Cruz Bustamante 1999-2007 John Garamendi 2007-09 Gavin Newsom 2011-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1859: D. W. Cheesman (Rep), defeated.
  • 1894: William T. Jeter, defeated.
  • 1895 Oct 24: Spencer G. Millard, died in office.
  • 1902: Isidore B. Dockweiler (Dem), defeated.
  • 1916 Feb 28: John M. Eshleman, died in office.
  • 1930: Tallant Tubbs (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1946: John F. Shelley, defeated.
  • 1954: Edward R. Roybal, defeated; James W. Silliman, defeated.
  • 1962: George Christopher (Rep), defeated.
  • 1966: Robert H. Finch (Rep), elected.
  • 1974: John L. Harmer, defeated.
  • 1978: Mervyn M. Dymally (Dem), defeated; Mike Curb (Rep), elected.
  • 1982: Carol Boyd Hallett (Rep), defeated.
  • 1986: Bill Richardson (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1986: Mike Curb (Rep), defeated.
  • 1986 Nov 4: James C. Griffin (American Independent), defeated.
  • 2006 Jun 6: John Garamendi (Dem), nominated; Jackie Speier (Dem), defeated in primary; Liz Figueroa (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 2006 Nov 7: John Garamendi (Dem), elected; Tom McClintock (Rep), defeated; Donna J. Warren (Green), defeated; Lynnete Shaw (Libertarian), defeated; Jim King (American Independent), defeated; Tom Condit (Peace and Freedom), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CA/ofc/ltgov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]