The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Sonoma County

Sonoma County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Sonoma County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Sonoma County: [none currently in database]

Sonoma County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1912, Baltimore: Charles O. Dunbar
   1916, St. Louis: William Maddux
   1920, San Francisco: Emmett Seawell
   1924, New York: Gil P. Hall — Mary L. Hall
   1928, Houston: William Maddux
   1932, Chicago: J. O. Davis
   1948, Philadelphia: Lillian Meinecke
   1956, Chicago: Joseph A. Rattigan
   1960, Los Angeles: Joseph A. Rattigan
   1964, Atlantic City: William Grami — Joseph A. Rattigan
   1968, Chicago: Newton Del Poggetto
   1972, Miami Beach: Jacques Levy — Donna Lee Piotrkowski — Charles Porter
   1988, Atlanta: Douglas H. Bosco — Carole Ellis — Howard Courtney Hughes — Pat Wiman — Lynn C. Woolsey
   1996, Chicago: Caroline Banuelos — Elizabeth J. Cabraser — Marina I. Torres — Lynn C. Woolsey
   2000, Los Angeles: Lynn C. Woolsey
   2004, Boston: Amy Boyd — Peter Jesella — Lynn C. Woolsey
   2008, Denver: Charles Roberson — Lynn C. Woolsey
Republican National Conventions:
   1868, Chicago: Thomas Spencer
   1876, Cincinnati: A. P. Whitney
   1880, Chicago: H. T. Fairbanks
   1884, Chicago: Horace W. Byington
   1888, Chicago: Horace W. Byington
   1896, St. Louis: Allen B. Lemmon
   1912, Chicago: Rolfe L. Thompson
   1924, Cleveland: Glenn E. Murdock
   1960, Chicago: Harry James Stockman
   1964, San Francisco: George O. Chalfant — Lee Evans
   1972, Miami Beach: Roads Veale
   1992, Houston: George Gorton
   2004, New York: Mike Harris — Barbara Stidham — Ruth Van Bemmel
   2008, St. Paul: Anton Hartmann — Brice Jones — Steve Lucanic — J. Gary Shansby — John Waller — Monroe Wingate
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CA/SN-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]