The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
German ancestry Politicians in Arkansas

  Louis Altheimer (1849-1922) — of Pine Bluff, Jefferson County, Ark. Born in Germany, 1849. Republican. Delegate to Republican National Convention from Arkansas, 1892, 1896 (alternate); postmaster at Pine Bluff, Ark., 1901. Jewish. German ancestry. Died in Little Rock, Pulaski County, Ark., May 27, 1922 (age about 72 years). Interment at Congregation Anshe Emeth Cemetery, Pine Bluff, Ark.
  Relatives: Married to Julia Sussholz.
  See also Find-A-Grave memorial
  Solomon Saladin Calhoon (1838-1908) — also known as S. S. Calhoon — of Yazoo City, Yazoo County, Miss.; Helena (now part of Helena-West Helena), Phillips County, Ark.; Canton, Madison County, Miss.; Jackson, Hinds County, Miss. Born near Brandenburg, Meade County, Ky., January 2, 1838. Democrat. Lawyer; private secretary to Gov. William McWillie, 1857; newspaper editor; colonel in the Confederate Army during the Civil War; circuit judge in Mississippi, 1876-82; delegate to Democratic National Convention from Mississippi, 1888 (member, Committee on Permanent Organization); delegate to Mississippi state constitutional convention, 1890; justice of Mississippi state supreme court, 1900-08; appointed 1900; died in office 1908. Episcopalian. Scotch-Irish and German ancestry. Member, Freemasons. Died November 10, 1908 (age 70 years, 313 days). Burial location unknown.
  Relatives: Son of George Calhoon and Louisiana (Brandenburg) Calhoon; married, December 21, 1865, to Margaret McWillie (daughter of William McWillie).
  Political family: Calhoon-McWillie family of Mississippi and Kentucky.
  George Washington List (1871-1949) — also known as George W. List — of Pine Bluff, Jefferson County, Ark. Born in Chillicothe, Ross County, Ohio, September 22, 1871. Democrat. Steam laundry owner; delegate to Democratic National Convention from Arkansas, 1924 (alternate), 1928. German ancestry. Died in Pine Bluff, Jefferson County, Ark., December 21, 1949 (age 78 years, 90 days). Burial location unknown.
  Presumably named for: George Washington
  Relatives: Son of Frederick List and Elizabeth (Biegler) List; married 1895 to Mamie Beulah Chestnutt.
  Jacob Shaul (1849-1925) — of Marianna, Lee County, Ark. Born in Germany, September 16, 1849. Republican. Alternate delegate to Republican National Convention from Arkansas, 1896, 1924; postmaster at Marianna, Ark., 1901. Jewish. German ancestry. Died in Arkansas, February 15, 1925 (age 75 years, 152 days). Interment at Beth El Cemetery, Helena-West Helena, Ark.
  Relatives: Married to Etta Louisa Levy.
  See also Find-A-Grave memorial
  Julius Gayle Windsor Jr. (1920-1991) — also known as J. Gayle Windsor, Jr. — of Little Rock, Pulaski County, Ark. Born in Tulsa, Tulsa County, Okla., June 4, 1920. Democrat. Served in the U.S. Army Air Force in World War II; lawyer; member of Arkansas state house of representatives, 1957-62, 1967-80. Baptist. English and German ancestry. Member, Lions; Theta Chi. Cast the only opposing vote in the legislature to Gov. Orval Faubus's plan to fight desegregation of the Little Rock schools in 1958. Died, of cancer, in Little Rock, Pulaski County, Ark., September 28, 1991 (age 71 years, 116 days). Interment at Roselawn Memorial Park, Little Rock, Ark.
  Relatives: Son of Julius Gayle Windsor, Sr..
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AR/german.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]