The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Union County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Union County

Index to Locations

  • El Dorado Arlington Memorial Park

    Arlington Memorial Park
    1050 Champagnolle Street
    El Dorado, Union County, Arkansas
    Founded 1902
    See also Findagrave page for this location.
    Politicians buried here:
      Oren Harris (1903-1997) — of El Dorado, Union County, Ark. Born in Belton, Hempstead County, Ark., December 20, 1903. Democrat. Lawyer; prosecuting attorney, 13th Circuit, 1936-40; U.S. Representative from Arkansas, 1941-66 (7th District 1941-53, 4th District 1953-66); delegate to Democratic National Convention from Arkansas, 1956, 1960; U.S. District Judge for Arkansas, 1966. Baptist. Member, Freemasons; Shriners; Knights of Pythias; Lions; American Bar Association; Sigma Alpha Epsilon. Died February 5, 1997 (age 93 years, 47 days). Interment at Arlington Memorial Park.
      Relatives: Son of Homer Harris and Bettie (Bullock) Harris; married, May 9, 1934, to Ruth Ross.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page
      Thomas Harry Barton (1881-1960) — also known as Thomas H. Barton; T. H. Barton — of El Dorado, Union County, Ark. Born in Marlin, Falls County, Tex., September 20, 1881. Democrat. Served in the U.S. Army during World War I; one of the founders of the Natural Gas and Fuel Corporation; president and director of Lion Oil Company; owner of radio and television stations; delegate to Democratic National Convention from Arkansas, 1940; member of Democratic National Committee from Arkansas, 1940; candidate for U.S. Senator from Arkansas, 1944. Member, Newcomen Society; American Legion; Forty and Eight. Died December 24, 1960 (age 79 years, 95 days). Interment at Arlington Memorial Park.
      Relatives: Son of Thomas Killebrew Barton and Mary Estelle (Johnson) Barton; married, July 13, 1925, to Madeline Mary Larimer.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial
      Aurelle Burnside (1889-1973) — of El Dorado, Union County, Ark. Born in Hillsboro, Union County, Ark., September 16, 1889. Democrat. Alternate delegate to Democratic National Convention from Arkansas, 1936. Female. Died in El Dorado, Union County, Ark., 1973 (age about 83 years). Interment at Arlington Memorial Park.

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AR/UN-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]