The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Republican Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

National Party Officers:

National Party Conventions:

Chairmen of Republican National Committee, 1856-2021 (may be incomplete)

Edwin D. Morgan 1856-64 Henry J. Raymond 1864-66 Marcus L. Ward 1866-68 William Claflin 1868-72 Edwin D. Morgan 1872-76 Zachariah Chandler 1876-79 J. Donald Cameron 1879-80 Marshall Jewell 1880-83 Dwight M. Sabin 1883-84 Benjamin F. Jones 1884-88 Matthew S. Quay 1888-91 James S. Clarkson 1891-92 Thomas H. Carter 1892-96 Marcus A. Hanna 1896-1904 Henry C. Payne 1904 George B. Cortelyou 1904-07 Harry S. New 1907-08 Frank H. Hitchcock 1908-09 John F. Hill 1909-12 Victor Rosewater 1912 Charles D. Hilles 1912-16 William R. Wilcox 1916-18 Will H. Hays 1918-21 John T. Adams 1921-24 William M. Butler 1924-28 Hubert Work 1928-29 Claudius H. Houston 1929-30 Simeon D. Fess 1930-32 Everett Sanders 1932-34 Henry P. Fletcher 1934-36 John D. M. Hamilton 1936-40 Joseph W. Martin, Jr. 1940-42 Harrison E. Spangler 1942-44 Herbert Brownell, Jr. 1944-46 B. Carroll Reece 1946-48 Hugh Scott 1948-49 Guy G. Gabrielson 1949-52 Arthur E. Summerfield 1952-53 Wesley Roberts 1953 Leonard W. Hall 1953-57 H. Meade Alcorn, Jr. 1957-59 Thruston B. Morton 1959-61 William E. Miller 1961-64 Dean Burch 1964-65 Ray C. Bliss 1965-69 Rogers C. B. Morton 1969-71 Bob Dole 1971-73 George Bush 1973-74 Mary Louise Smith 1974-77 Bill Brock 1977-81 Richard Richards 1981-83 Frank J. Fahrenkopf, Jr. 1983-89 Lee Atwater 1989-91 Clayton K. Yeutter 1991-92 Richard Bond 1992-93 Haley Barbour 1993-97 Jim Nicholson 1997-2001 Jim Gilmore 2001-02 Marc Racicot 2002-03 Ed Gillespie 2003- Ed Gillespie 2003-05 Ronna Romney McDaniel 2017-

Vice-Chair of Republican National Committee, 1917-65 (may be incomplete)

John T. Adams as of 1917-21 Ralph E. Williams 1921-40 Charles D. Hilles as of 1925 Sallie A. Hert as of 1932 J. Henry Roraback as of 1932-36 Marion M. Scranton 1936-38 Mrs. John E. Hillman as of 1937 Walter S. Hallanan 1940-44 Daniel E. Pomeroy as of 1940 Frank E. Gannett as of 1942 Katharine Kennedy Brown 1944-52 Alma K. Schneider 1952 Eleanor Schley Todd 1956-59 Clarence J. Brown as of 1959 Kathryn K. Meloney as of 1959 Albert K. Mitchell as of 1959 Babette S. Ransohoff 1959-65 Ray C. Bliss 1960-64

Secretary of Republican National Committee, 1856-1960 (may be incomplete)

Norman B. Judd 1856 Samuel Fessenden 1884-88 J. Sloat Fassett 1888-92 James F. Burke as of 1892 Joseph H. Manley as of 1896 Charles W. F. Dick 1897-1900 William Hayward 1908-12 James B. Reynolds 1912-16 Clarence B. Miller as of 1920 George B. Lockwood as of 1924 George de B. Keim as of 1936 Harold W. Mason 1937-44 Katherine G. Howard as of 1948-53 Gladys E. Knowles as of 1956 Elizabeth E. Heffelfinger as of 1960

Treasurer of Republican National Committee, 1888-1955 (may be incomplete)

William Wade Dudley 1888 Cornelius N. Bliss 1892-1904 Cornelius N. Bliss, Jr. 1916 Fred W. Upham 1920-24 William V. Hodges 1924-28 George F. Getz 1936 C. B. Goodspeed 1936-41 Sinclair Weeks 1941-44 James S. Kemper 1944-46 Jouett Ross Todd as of 1944 W. Harold Brenton as of 1954-55

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/R/index.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]