The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Rhode Island Republican Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Rhode Island Delegates to Republican National Conventions: very incomplete!

Republican state chairs, 1876-2012 (Incomplete!)

Charles R. Brayton 1876-77 Charles A. Wilson as of 1914 William C. Pelkey as of 1925-31 George D. Greenhalgh as of 1945 Thomas Casey Greene 1946-49 William T. Broomhead as of 1958 John Conley as of 1964 Bernard A. Jackvony 2000-01 Giovanni D. Cicione as of 2008 Mark Zaccaria as of 2012

Members of Republican National Committee, 1866-2012 (Incomplete!)

Thomas G. Turner 1866-68 Lyman B. Frieze 1868-72 William D. Brayton 1872- Charles R. Brayton 1896-1910 William Paine Sheffield 1912 Frederick S. Peck 1918-32 Mrs. Charles J. Steedman 1924 Jesse H. Metcalf 1935-40 G. Edward Buxton as of 1940 Mrs. Paul FitzSimons as of 1940 Harry Sandager as of 1941-44 Felix Hébert as of 1944-52 Eileen Slocum as of 2000-04 Michael A. Traficante 2000-04 Robert Manning 2004-08 Carol A. Mumford as of 2008-12 Joseph Trillo as of 2012

Members of Republican State Central Committee, 1885-1950 (Incomplete!)

Melville Bull as of 1885-95 G. Benjamin Utter 1915-28 Fred Bartlett Perkins as of 1946-50 Louis V. Jackvony as of 1948 Robert Scott Hirst 1950

Members of Republican State Committee, 1960 (Incomplete!)

Joseph H. O'Donnell, Jr. 1960

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/R/RI.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]