The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Massachusetts Republican Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Massachusetts Delegates to Republican National Conventions: very incomplete!

Republican state chairs, 1869-2012 (Incomplete!)

George B. Loring 1869-76 Henry Cabot Lodge as of 1883 Alanson W. Beard 1885-86 Samuel E. Winslow as of 1893-94 George H. Lyman 1895-96 George A. Bacon 1917-18 Frank H. Foss 1921-24 Francis Prescott as of 1925 Amos L. Taylor 1929-32 Vernon W. Marr as of 1935-36 Sinclair Weeks as of 1937 Edward D. Sirois as of 1941 George B. Rowell as of 1945 Mason Sears 1949-50 Elmer C. Nelson as of 1955 Daniel E. McLean as of 1958 Kerry Healey 2001 Peter G. Torkildsen as of 2008 Robert A. Maginn as of 2012

Members of Republican National Committee, 1856-2013 (Incomplete!)

John T. Goodrich 1856-60 William Claflin 1866- William W. Crapo as of 1884 W. Murray Crane 1892-96 George H. Lyman 1896-1900 W. Murray Crane 1904-12 John W. Weeks as of 1920 Anna Child Bird 1924 William M. Butler as of 1924-25 Margaret A. Green as of 1936-37 Joseph W. Martin, Jr. as of 1937 Sinclair Weeks as of 1940-53 Louise M. Williams as of 1940 Katherine G. Howard 1945-53 Jody Dow 2008-12 Ronald C. Kaufman as of 2008-12 Kerry Healey 2012-13

Republican state party secretaries, 1896-1937 (Incomplete!)

James B. Reynolds 1896-1905 Joseph W. Martin, Jr. 1922-25 Amos L. Taylor 1927-28 Mrs. Sidney A. Bailey as of 1937

Republican state party treasurers, 1915-16 (Incomplete!)

Jesse B. Baxter 1915-16

Members of Republican State Central Committee, 1949 (Incomplete!)

Florence G. Claussen as of 1949

Members of Republican State Committee, 1884-1950 (Incomplete!)

Curtis Guild, Jr. as of 1884 Frank D. Allen 1885-87 Harrison H. Atwood as of 1888-89 Louis C. Southard 1888-94 Benjamin C. Lane 1894-95 Albert P. Langtry 1903-10 William H. Carter 1907-08 George A. Bacon 1910-18 Frank H. Foss 1915-46 Minnie R. Dwight 1920-34 Amos L. Taylor 1924-49 Mary B. Besse 1929 Bernard Ginsburg 1932-36 John W. Heselton 1936-38 Louise A. Prince 1940 Laurence H. Banks 1948-50

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/R/MA.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]