The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Iowa Republican Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Iowa Delegates to Republican National Conventions: very incomplete!

Iowa Republican Party County Chairs: very incomplete!

Floyd - Humboldt - Mills

Republican state chairs, 1869-2008 (Incomplete!)

James S. Clarkson 1869-71 Horace G. McMillan as of 1896 Charles A. Rawson 1912-20 H. B. Burnquist as of 1925 Willis L. Stern as of 1928 Harrison E. Spangler as of 1930-32 Carl H. Cook as of 1937 Shannon B. Chariton as of 1941 Willis B. York as of 1945 Whitney Gillilland 1947-50 Don C. Pierson 1954-57 L. L. Jurgemeyer as of 1958 George Nagle 1961-63 Robert D. Ray 1963-67 John C. McDonald as of 1971 Stewart Iverson as of 2008

Republican state vice-chairs, 1949-71 (Incomplete!)

Gertrude Wilharm as of 1949 Pat Pardun as of 1971

Members of Republican National Committee, 1866-2020 (Incomplete!)

Daniel P. Stubbs 1866-68 Josiah Tracy 1868-70 George Washington McCrary 1870-72 Grenville M. Dodge 1872-74 James S. Clarkson 1880-96 Albert B. Cummins as of 1896-1900 Ernest E. Hart as of 1904-08 John T. Adams 1912-24 Mrs. T. P. Hollowell 1924 Charles A. Rawson 1924 Harrison E. Spangler 1931-49 Martha McClure as of 1937-40 Maude Hicks Hickman 1945-49 Robert K. Goodwin as of 1952-56 George Nagle 1961-63 Mary Louise Smith as of 1964-84 Charles E. Wittenmeyer as of 1971 Phyllis Kelly as of 2008 Steve Roberts as of 2008 Tamara Scott as of 2020

Republican state party secretaries, 1937 (Incomplete!)

H. D. Haesemeyer as of 1937

Republican state party treasurers, 1950-52 (Incomplete!)

Alice E. Figg 1950-52

Republican state party finance chairs, 1971 (Incomplete!)

Jerry Perpich as of 1971

Members of Republican State Central Committee, 1902-71 (Incomplete!)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/R/IA.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]