The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Connecticut Republican Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Connecticut Delegates to Republican National Conventions: very incomplete!

Republican state chairs, 1886-2008 (Incomplete!)

Erastus S. Day 1886-90 Orsamus R. Fyler as of 1896-1901 J. Henry Roraback 1912-37 Benjamin E. Harwood as of 1940 J. Kenneth Bradley as of 1941 Harold E. Mitchell as of 1945 Clarence F. Baldwin 1949-58 Edwin H. May, Jr. 1958-62 A. Searle Pinney 1961-64 Fred Biebel 1970 Ralph Capecelatro as of 1980-83 Chris DePino as of 2000 Christopher Healy as of 2008

Republican state vice-chairs, 1940 (Incomplete!)

Katherine Byrne as of 1940

Members of Republican National Committee, 1856-2008 (Incomplete!)

Gideon Welles as of 1856-64 Henry H. Starkweather 1866-72 Marshall Jewell 1872- Samuel Fessenden as of 1896 Charles F. Brooker 1900-12 William F. Henney 1913-16 Mrs. Samuel O. Prentice 1924 J. Henry Roraback as of 1924-32 Katherine Byrne as of 1932-40 Samuel F. Pryor, Jr. 1936-41 Clarence F. Baldwin as of 1952 Julia A. Keeney as of 1952-57 James C. Shannon as of 1952 H. Meade Alcorn, Jr. 1953-61 John Alsop as of 1968 Tina Harrower as of 1968 John H. Frey as of 2008 Patricia Longo as of 2008

Republican state party secretaries, 1901-42 (Incomplete!)

Samuel A. Eddy as of 1901 George E. Hinman 1902-14 John Buckley 1916-22 Clarence G. Willard as of 1937 W. Ellery Allyn 1940-42

Republican state party treasurers, 1940 (Incomplete!)

Charles S. Bissell as of 1940

Republican state party executive secretaries, 1940 (Incomplete!)

Albert S. Bill as of 1940

Republican state party assistant secretaries, 1922-40 (Incomplete!)

Alexander W. Creedon as of 1922 Alice F. Squire as of 1940

Members of Republican State Central Committee, 1896-1957 (Incomplete!)

Members of Republican State Committee, 1889-1909 (Incomplete!)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/R/CT.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]