The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Colorado Republican Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Colorado Delegates to Republican National Conventions: very incomplete!

Colorado Republican Party County Chairs: very incomplete!


Republican state chairs, 1884-2008 (Incomplete!)

Jerome B. Chaffee as of 1884 Irving Howbert 1894-95 J. L. Hodges as of 1896 Hubert Work as of 1912 George H. Shaw 1922-25 John R. Coen as of 1925-31 J. Edgar Chenoweth 1937-40 Henry Leonard as of 1941 William L. Lloyd as of 1945 Charles A. Haskell as of 1955 Richard H. Shaw as of 1958 Paul W. Wolf as of 1964 Howard H. Callaway 1981-87 Bob Beauprez 1999-2002 Richard Wadhams as of 2008

Republican state vice-chairs, 1942-48 (Incomplete!)

Alma K. Schneider 1942-48

Members of Republican National Committee, 1896-2008 (Incomplete!)

J. F. Saunders as of 1896 Archie M. Stevenson as of 1904 Charles E. Cavender as of 1908 Simon Guggenheim as of 1912 Hubert Work as of 1920 Clarence C. Hamlin 1924 Anna Wolcott Vaile 1924 Mrs. John E. Hillman as of 1932-40 Lawrence C. Phipps as of 1932 Charles R. Enos as of 1937-40 Eileen E. Archibold 1944-48 Rex C. Eaton as of 1945 Alma K. Schneider 1948-52 William L. Lloyd as of 1952 Leon H. Snyder as of 1952 Arthur C. Sheely 1957 Mrs. Henry Swan II 1957 Lilly Nunez as of 2008 Robert W. Schaffer as of 2008

Republican state party secretaries, 1937 (Incomplete!)

Elmer C. Abbey as of 1937

Members of Republican State Central Committee, 1960-82 (Incomplete!)

John A. Love 1960 Kenneth B. Kramer 1973-82

Members of Republican State Committee, 1892-1910 (Incomplete!)

Charles B. Timberlake 1892-1910

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/R/CO.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]