The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Rhode Island Democratic Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Rhode Island Delegates to Democratic National Conventions: very incomplete!

Democratic state chairs, 1922-2008 (Incomplete!)

James E. Dunne 1922-25 J. Howard McGrath 1930-34 William A. Shawcross as of 1937 John P. Hartigan as of 1939 John E. Mullen as of 1945 Stephen A. Fanning 1947-49 Frank Rao as of 1955-58 William J. Lynch as of 2008

Democratic state vice-chairs, 1928-2012 (Incomplete!)

J. Howard McGrath 1928-30 Grace Diaz as of 2008-12

Members of Democratic National Committee, 1876-2012 (Incomplete!)

Nicholas Van Slyck as of 1876-80 J. B. Barnaby 1888 Samuel R. Honey 1888-96 George W. Greene 1912 Patrick H. Quinn 1916-32 Jane A. Newton as of 1920 Peter G. Gerry 1932-36 Theodore F. Green as of 1936-40 Margaret M. Sullivan as of 1939-49 Annette Cusson as of 1968 Joseph A. Doorley, Jr. 1968 Charles J. Fogarty as of 2004 William J. Lynch as of 2004 Edna O'Neill Mattson as of 2004-12 Edward McElroy as of 2004 Frank A. Montanaro as of 2004-12 Eleanor F. Slater as of 2004 Mark S. Weiner as of 2004-08 David N. Cicilline as of 2008 Patrick C. Lynch as of 2008

Democratic state party secretaries, 1923-42 (Incomplete!)

H. DeWitt Hamilton 1923-42

Members of Democratic State Committee, 1938-2000 (Incomplete!)

Stephen A. Fanning 1938-48 Alfred Kennedy, Jr. as of 2000 Sylvester Morrone as of 2000 Thurman M. Silks as of 2000

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/RI.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]