The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

New Hampshire Democratic Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

New Hampshire Delegates to Democratic National Conventions: very incomplete!

New Hampshire Democratic Party County Chairs: very incomplete!


Democratic state chairs, 1890-2008 (Incomplete!)

John P. Bartlett as of 1890-92 John B. Jameson 1906-12 Robert Jackson as of 1925 Robert E. Gould as of 1931 Robert C. Murchie as of 1937-39 Josaphat T. Benoit as of 1944-45 Dayton D. McKean as of 1949 John R. Hodsdon as of 1955 Alfred J. Catalfo, Jr. as of 1957-58 Raymond C. Buckley as of 2008

Democratic state vice-chairs, 1939-2008 (Incomplete!)

Agnes Collins Dunn as of 1939 Edward J. Gallagher as of 1939 John F. Beamis, Jr. as of 1945 Mary C. Dondero as of 1945 George H. Edson as of 1945 Daniel J. Hagerty as of 1945 Henry J. Proulx as of 1945 Martha Fuller Clark as of 2008

Members of Democratic National Committee, 1876-2010 (Incomplete!)

M. V. B. Edgerly as of 1876 Alvah W. Sulloway as of 1880-88 Eugene E. Reed 1908-12 Robert C. Murchie 1916-21 Dorothy B. Jackson 1920 Agnes Collins Dunn as of 1939-40 Alvin A. Lucier as of 1939-40 Myrtle McIntyre as of 1952-56 Frances S. Adams 1956-58 Bernard Boutin as of 1957 Hugh H. Bownes as of 1963 Hugh J. Gallen as of 1973 Raymond C. Buckley as of 2004-10 Gaetan DiGangi as of 2004-08 Anita Freedman as of 2004-08 Kathleen Sullivan as of 2004

Democratic state party secretaries, 1904-57 (Incomplete!)

John P. Bartlett 1904-06 Henry Lagasse as of 1937-39 Fortunat Normandin as of 1945 Lucille Sullivan as of 1957

Democratic state party treasurers, 1939-57 (Incomplete!)

Robert H. Sanderson as of 1939 Joseph Alfred Seymour as of 1945 Leonello Breton as of 1957

Members of Democratic State Committee, 1889-1962 (Incomplete!)

Amos N. Blandin 1889-1944 Robert C. Murchie 1912-17 Laurence Radway 1958-62

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/NH.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]