The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Maine Democratic Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Maine Delegates to Democratic National Conventions: very incomplete!

Democratic state chairs, 1905-2008 (Incomplete!)

Edgar L. Jones 1905 Fred E. Beane 1908-09 William R. Pattangall 1916 William R. Pattangall 1919 Dan W. Cony as of 1925 Edward C. Moran as of 1928-29 John H. Dooley as of 1930-31 Fred H. Lancaster as of 1937-39 Peter M. MacDonald as of 1945 James A. Morang as of 1949 Frank M. Coffin 1954-56 Alton A. Lessard as of 1958 George J. Mitchell 1966-68 Christopher G. L. Hall as of 1997 John Knutson as of 2008

Democratic state vice-chairs, 1945-2008 (Incomplete!)

Helen Rowe as of 1945 Marianne Stevens as of 2008

Members of Democratic National Committee, 1872-2008 (Incomplete!)

Lorenzo D. M. Sweat as of 1872-76 Edmund Wilson as of 1880 Arthur Sewall as of 1888-96 Edgar L. Jones 1912 Charles F. Johnson as of 1916 Daniel J. McGillicuddy as of 1917-32 Gertrude M. Pattangall as of 1920 Helen C. Donahue as of 1929 F. Harold Dubord 1932-48 Helen N. Hanson as of 1939-40 Edmund S. Muskie as of 1952-54 Lucia M. Cormier as of 1954 Madelin F. Kiah as of 1957 Richard J. Dubord as of 1963 Gloria H. Latno as of 1963 George J. Mitchell as of 1969-77 William Bryan as of 1997-2004 Gwethalyn M. Phillips as of 1997-2004 David Garrity as of 2004 Dale McCormick as of 2004 Dorothy Melanson as of 2004 Jennifer DeChant as of 2008 Sam Spencer as of 2008

Democratic state party secretaries, 1882-1945 (Incomplete!)

Samuel W. Gould as of 1882-90 Fred E. Beane 1888-98 Lois M. Creighton as of 1928 Florence M. Latno as of 1937 Jane Callan Kilroy as of 1945

Democratic state party treasurers, 1928-45 (Incomplete!)

John H. Dooley as of 1928 Powers McLean as of 1945 Joseph Mayo 1980

Members of Democratic State Committee, 1905-45 (Incomplete!)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/ME.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]