The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Maryland Democratic Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Maryland Delegates to Democratic National Conventions: very incomplete!

Maryland Democratic Party County Chairs: very incomplete!

Allegany - Queen Anne's

Democratic state chairs, 1887-2008 (Incomplete!)

Stevenson Archer as of 1887-89 John Walter Smith 1895 Murray Vandiver 1897-1916 Harry W. Rusk as of 1898-1908 David J. Ward as of 1918-26 J. Enos Ray 1925-34 Joshua N. Warfield as of 1937-39 Truman B. Cash as of 1945 Robert B. Ennis as of 1949 T. Barton Harrington as of 1955-58 Clarence D. Long as of 1961-62 Marvin Mandel as of 1968-69 Harry R. Hughes as of 1969-70 William S. James 1971-75 Michael E. Cryor as of 2008

Democratic state vice-chairs, 1953-2008 (Incomplete!)

Hervey Machen 1953-57 Lauren D. Glover as of 2008

Members of Democratic National Committee, 1876-2008 (Incomplete!)

A. Leo Knott as of 1876 Outerbridge Horsey as of 1880 Arthur P. Gorman as of 1888 J. Frederick C. Talbott 1907-18 John Walter Smith as of 1920-21 Elizabeth R. Menefee as of 1929-39 Howard Bruce as of 1939 Mrs. Edward J. Colgan 1940 William Preston Lane, Jr. 1940-50 George P. Mahoney as of 1950 M. Alice Canoles as of 1954 Thomas D'Alesandro, Jr. as of 1954 Mildred Otenasek as of 1963 J. Millard Tawes as of 1963 Lanny J. Davis 1980-92 Thomas Buffenbarger as of 2004 Alvaro Cifuentes as of 2004-08 Maria Cordone as of 2004-08 Elijah E. Cummings as of 2004 John Gage as of 2004-08 Janice Griffin as of 2004-08 C. Sue Hecht as of 2004 Weldon Latham as of 2004 Isiah Leggett as of 2004 Belkis Leong-Hong as of 2004-08 Richard P. Michalski as of 2004-08 Glenard S. Middleton as of 2004-08 Thomas V. Miller, Jr. as of 2004 Mary Jo Neville as of 2004-08 R. Scott Pastrick as of 2004 Gregory Pecoraro as of 2004-08 Carol Pensky as of 2004-08 Michael Steed as of 2004-08 John J. Sweeney as of 2004-08 Beatrice P. Tignor as of 2004 Susan W. Turnbull as of 2004-08 Nancy K. Kopp as of 2008 Heather Mizeur as of 2008 Karren Pope-Onwukwe as of 2008

Democratic state party secretaries, 1937 (Incomplete!)

Hugh A. Meade as of 1937

Members of Democratic State Central Committee, 1921-82 (Incomplete!)

J. Forest Walker 1921-26 Marvin Mandel 1951 John A. Giannetti, Sr. as of 1978-82

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/MD.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]