The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Massachusetts Democratic Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Massachusetts Delegates to Democratic National Conventions: very incomplete!

Democratic state chairs, 1853-2008 (Incomplete!)

Daniel Needham as of 1853 Noah A. Plympton 1884 Josiah Quincy 1891-92 John W. Coughlin 1896 Christopher T. Callahan 1898-99 William S. McNary as of 1901-03 Josiah Quincy 1906 Charles H. McGlue as of 1925 Frank J. Donohue as of 1929-31 Joseph McGrath as of 1937 William H. Burke, Jr. as of 1939 John F. Cahill as of 1945 James H. Vahey as of 1949 John C. Carr as of 1955 John M. Lynch as of 1958 Chester G. Atkins 1977- John Walsh as of 2008

Democratic state vice-chairs, 1899-2008 (Incomplete!)

Daniel N. Crowley 1899 P. J. Daly 1899 William A. Davenport 1899 John H. Mack 1899 Robert T. Paine, Jr. 1899 Debra Kozikowski as of 2008

Members of Democratic National Committee, 1876-2008 (Incomplete!)

Frederick O. Prince as of 1876-80 Charles D. Lewis as of 1888 John W. Coughlin 1912 Edward W. Quinn as of 1920-21 Nellie M. Sullivan as of 1920 Edward W. Quinn as of 1929 Nellie M. Sullivan as of 1929 Joseph McGrath as of 1939 Elizabeth L. McNamara as of 1939 James M. Curley 1940-54 Margaret M. O'Riordan 1940-54 Mary Fantasia as of 1963 John E. Powers as of 1963 Eva B. Hester as of 1973 Virginia M. Allan as of 2004 Clinton Bench as of 2004 Philip Johnston as of 2004 Raymond A. Jordan as of 2004-08 Elaine C. Kamarck as of 2004-08 William R. Keating as of 2004 Debra Kozikowski as of 2004 David M. O'Brien as of 2004-08 James Roosevelt, Jr. as of 2004-08 Alan D. Solomont as of 2004-08 Margaret D. Xifaras as of 2004-08 Gus Bickford as of 2008 Diane M. Saxe as of 2008

Democratic state party secretaries, 1898-1937 (Incomplete!)

William S. McNary as of 1898-1900 John A. Coulthurst 1906-07 Mary E. Corkery as of 1937

Democratic state party treasurers, 1899 (Incomplete!)

Charles D. Lewis 1899

Members of Democratic State Committee, 1896-1948 (Incomplete!)

Edward Gilmore 1896-1903 John W. Coughlin 1901-20 Vincent Brogna as of 1911 Thomas H. Buckley 1920-40 Silas F. Taylor 1928-48

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/MA.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]