The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Delaware Democratic Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Delaware Delegates to Democratic National Conventions: very incomplete!

Delaware Democratic Party County Chairs: very incomplete!

Kent - New Castle - Sussex

Democratic state chairs, 1892-2008 (Incomplete!)

L. Irving Handy 1892-96 Willard Saulsbury, Jr. as of 1900-06 Thomas F. Bayard as of 1906-16 Henry R. Isaacs as of 1920 Harry T. Graham as of 1925 James M. Tunnell as of 1929-30 John Biggs, Jr. as of 1930-36 Josiah Marvel, Jr. 1937-42 John C. Hazzard as of 1945 Elbert N. Carvel 1946-47 Harris B. McDowell, Jr. as of 1949 Elbert N. Carvel as of 1955 Garrett E. Lyons 1958-60 Gary E. Hindes 1996-97 Richard Bayard 1997 John Daniello as of 2008

Democratic state vice-chairs, 2008 (Incomplete!)

Harriet N. Smith=Windsor as of 2008

Members of Democratic National Committee, 1876-2008 (Incomplete!)

Charles Beasten as of 1876 H. Hickman as of 1880 John H. Rodney as of 1888 Willard Saulsbury, Jr. 1908-20 Leah Evans as of 1920 Josiah O. Wolcott as of 1920-21 Andrew C. Gray 1921-29 Mrs. John R. Eskridge as of 1929 Marguerite Bodziak as of 1937-40 James M. Tunnell as of 1937-47 E. Ennalls Berl as of 1948 John C. Hazzard as of 1954 Caroline Hughes as of 1954 Belle Everett as of 1963-68 William S. Potter as of 1963-68 Richard Bayard 1988-97 Richard Bayard as of 2004 Leah Betts as of 2004 Bert DiClemente as of 2004 Karen Valentine as of 2004-08 Ruth Ann Minner as of 2008 Rhett Ruggerio as of 2008

Democratic state party secretaries, 1937 (Incomplete!)

Johanna G. Wolfe as of 1937

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/DE.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]