The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Washington Delegation to the
1996 Democratic National Convention

Delegation chair: Paul J. Berendt

Delegates (may be incomplete!)
Dee Anderson, Seattle - Robert Anderson, Kennewick - Karen Ann Baker, Spokane - Paula Baker, Renton - Rick Bender, Seattle - Paul J. Berendt, Seattle - Dianne Welsh Bleck, Spokane - Kristopher Brannon, Tacoma - Ellen Brock, Rochester - Harvey Brooks, University Place - Rhonda Brown, Tacoma - Jose Caballero, Olympia - Helen Carlstrom, Olympia - Charlotte Coker, Spokane - Mary Comstock, Spanaway - Steve Conway, Tacoma - Marie Cook, Seattle - Eugene Cota-Robles, Edmonds - Joe Cunningham, Seattle - Adrian Damish, Wenatchee - Rod Dembowski, Renton - Ted Dick, Ellensburg - Norman D. Dicks - Don Eckoff, Olympia - Kathy Fleming, Cheney - Thomas S. Foley - David Fredrick, Spokane - Carol Grondal, Chimacum - Robin Guettler, Fall City - Leslie Harris, Seattle - Bev Hermanson, Olympia - Ted Higley, Fall City - Eleanor Hill, Tacoma - Herb Hill, Pullman - Steve Hobbs, Snohomish - Greg Hullender, Kirkland - Hillary Hunt, Olympia - Sam Hunt, Olympia - Joliet Ishell, Edmonds - Jacqueline Jones-Walsh, Seattle - Howard Jorgenson, Olympia - Julie Anne Kemph, Seattle - Ron Knight, Toppenish - O. C. Koshy, Bellevue - Ruthann Kurose, Seattle - Russell LaFontaine, Seattle - Thom Langley, Seattle - Linda Lanham, Seattle - Edith Lawrence, Edmonds - Kathleen A. Lawrence, Vancouver - Judith Lonnquist, Seattle - William Lowe, SeaTac - Mike Lowry - Margee Lynch, Spokane - Karen Marchioro, Seattle - Sheryl Ann Matthews, Auburn - Jim McDermott - David T. McDonald, Seattle - Samuel McKinney, Seattle - Mary E. McKnew, Olympia - Todd Morrow, Everett - Patty Murray - David Nord, Maple Valley - Dan Ogden, Vancouver - Jay Pearson, Marysville - Larry Phillips, Seattle - Jodi Prather, Kettle Falls - Margarita L. Prentice - Edna Rapp, Yakima - Norman B. Rice, Seattle - Nancy Rising II, Kirkland - Ralph Rodriguez, Tacoma - Joann Rossall, Snohomish - Mary Jean Ryan, Seattle - Tony Sandoval, Yakima - Julian Saucedo, Seattle - P. J. Seidenstriker, SeaTac - Susan Shary, Renton - Bob Shortt, Aberdeen - Jeffrey Smith, Seattle - Stephanie Solien, Seattle - Adrianne Thompson, Bellingham - John Thompson, Puyallup - Mable Thompson, Ephrata - Javier Valdez, Seattle - Ya-Yue J. Van, Pullman - Velma Veloria, Seattle - Jessilyn White-Head, Seattle - Connie Zehner, Ellensburg

Alternates (may be incomplete!)
Delores Brewer, Seattle - Carol Dotlich, Tacoma - Paul Glavin, Spokane - Linda Gleason, Silverdale - Maggie Hanson, Bellingham - Sharon Mast, Bellevue - Jason Pierson, Aberdeen - Bob Randolph, Seattle - Charles Rolland, Seattle - Guz Schwartz, Tacoma - John Simpson, Centralia - Deborah Wilkinson, Seattle

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/1996/WA.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]