The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Puerto Rico Delegation to the
1996 Democratic National Convention

Delegates (may be incomplete!)
Hector Luis Acevedo, San Juan - Luisa I. Acevedo, San Juan - Jose E. Aponte, Estencias de San Fernando, Carolina - Luz Arce, Aguadilla - Aracelis Arroyo de Roques, Rio Piedras - Eduardo Bathia, Isla Verde, Carolina - Celeste Benitez, Rio Piedras - Luis Melendez Cano, Vega Baja - Maria Casanova de Hernandez, Alturas de Torrimar, Guaynabo - Aurora Mendez Charneco, San Sebastián - Francisco Chévere, Guaynabo - Severo E. Colberg Toro, Dos Pinos, Rio Piedras - Carmen M. Colon, French Plaza, San Juan - Antonio J. Colorado, Hato Rey - Greg J. Cortes, Carolina - Sylvia Corujo, Caguas - Cirilo Tirado Delgado, Guayama - Leonides Parrilla Figueroa, Villa Blanca, Caguas - Pedro J. Figueroa, Carolina - Nydia Estrada Galarza, Ensenada - Enid M. Gallivan, Caparra Hills, Guaynabo - Velda Gonzalez, Cayey - Jaime E. Gonzalez Rivera, Morovis - Héctor Grau, Bayamón - Miguel Hernandez-Agosto, Guaynabo - Juan Hernández Mayoral, Ponce - Rene Muñoz Padin, San Francisco, Old San Juan - Victor M. Negron Padilla, San Juan - Miguel G. Ortiz Velez, Sabana Grande - Mercedes Otero de Ramos, El Senorial - Irmgard Pagan, Condado - Ruth Reyes Ramos, Patillas - Melba Rivera-Delgado, Canóvanas - Migdalia Torres Rodriguez, Vega Baja - Charlie Rodriquez, Isla Verde, Carolina - Melinda Romero, Condado - Carlos A. Romero Barceló - Pedró J. Rosselló, San Juan - Cuca Soldana, Miramar, Santurce - Zoila Toledo, Hatillo - Julia Torres, Mayagüez - Freddy Velez-Garcia, San Juan - Ana Irma Vila, Baldrich, Hato Rey

Alternates (may be incomplete!)
Isabel Canas, Arecibo - Juan Andres Cancel Alegros, Bayamón - Angel M. Castillo, Rio Piedras - Samuel Cespedes, Guaynabo - Angel Cortes, Rexville, Bayamón - Socorro Lugo, San Germán - Judith Mendez-Pagan, Ponce - Mayra Rodriguez, Puerta de Tierra, Old San Juan - Jose M. Varela, Caguas

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/1996/PR.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]