The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Tennessee Delegation to the
1980 Democratic National Convention

Delegates (may be incomplete!)
Merrill E. Ansley, Winchester - Margaret Anne Austin, Knoxville - George E. Barrett, Nashville - Zollie H. Bibb, Jr., White Bluff - Agnes Bird, Maryville - Kathryn Bowers, Memphis - Edward C. Browder, Harriman - Thelma Brymer, Nashville - Steve Cohen, Memphis - Bonnie Jean Collins, Memphis - Talmage Critchfield, Jr., Ripley - T. Tommy Cutrer, Nashville - Britt Davis, Carthage - Don Farmer, Milan - William W. Farris, Memphis - Frances Fifer, Chattanooga - Richard H. Fulton, Nashville - Greg F. Garren, Maynardville - Frank Gorrell, Nashville - Mary Lee Gregory, Johnson City - Roy J. Guthrie, Cleveland - James E. Hall, Signal Mountain - Thelma Harper, Nashville - Don Harris, Lexington - Tommy H. Hawkins, Jr., Lewisburg - Steve Hewlett, Nashville - George Hyatt, Oak Ridge - Minerva Johnican, Memphis - Bruce E. Johnston, Bluff City - Douglas S. Johnston, Jr., Nashville - Betty Jean Jones, Memphis - Mary Lou Kanipe, Knoxville - Lillian Kolwyck, Jackson - Gladys M. Linton, Memphis - Philip H. Livingston, Chattanooga - J. W. Lune, Manchester - Pat Martin, Hermitage - Peggy McCullough, Chattanooga - Joni McFarland - Ned McWherter - Gwen M. Myers, Morristown - Linda R. Nichols, Clarksville - J. O. Patterson, Jr., Memphis - James Powers, Sr., Waverly - Audrey Prince, Oak Ridge - Loucile Putnam, Lawrenceburg - Q. E. Richmond, Lenoir City - Nannie Rucker, Murfreesboro - Marietta Shipley, Nashville - Gwen E. Smith, Memphis - Maxine Smith, Memphis - Gaylon Turnage, Bells - H. Ross Welch, Clarksville - Elizabeth Buchanan Whorley, Murfreesboro - Mayo Wix, Gallatin

Alternates (may be incomplete!)
R. C. 'Curt' Ailey, La Follette - Nick D. Bailey, Nashville - Raymond C. Bailey, Brentwood - Charles W. Bell, Dresden - June J. Boring, Kingston - Ben D. Brabson, Jr., Sevierville - Larkin L. Brown, Memphis - Charles C. Burks, Knoxville - Bobbie M. Caldwell, Oak Ridge - Mary Jo Cannon, Memphis - Laura Ann Carr, Nashville - Alzada Clark, Memphis - Waverly Crenshaw, Jr., Nashville - Gloria P. Dailey, Nashville - LaVerne Dodson, Waverly - Oscar Edmonds, Memphis - Charles Frank Fearey, Oak Ridge - John Ford, Memphis - Lynn D. Ford, Chattanooga - Jerry W. Gray, Memphis - Judy E. Hampton, Crossville - Joyce Hurt, Dresden - G. Richard Johnson, Johnson City - Judith B. Lee, Madisonville - Dorothy Mattison, Bristol - Sarah McHorris, Kingsport - Pamela S. McMillan, Knoxville - Virginia L. Murphy, Hixson - J. B. Napier, Columbia - M. T. Puckett, Smithville - Bruce Reagan, Gatlinburg - Earl Rice, Brownsville - Maxine Roberts, Nashville - Dorothy Smith, Memphis - Pamela Stogner, Minor Hill - Willie L. Teague, Jamestown - Mitchell Thorp, Johnson City - Rebecca C. Woods, Henderson

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/1980/TN.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]