The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Speakers and Entertainers at the
1944 Democratic National Convention

Honored Guests and Entertainers:

Danny O'Neil

Offered Prayers:

Harrison R. AndersonLouis BinstockJoshua OdenJohn F. Zelezinski

Convention Speakers:

Dorothy V. Bush (Alabama) Lister Hill (Alabama) Chauncey Sparks (Alabama) Helen Gahagan Douglas (California) Robert W. Kenny (California) Edwin W. Pauley (California) Elizabeth E. Pellet (Colorado) Homer S. Cummings (Connecticut) Francis T. Maloney (Connecticut) Mrs. Fred T. Nooney (Florida) Claude Pepper (Florida) Ellis Gibbs Arnall (Georgia) Ryburn D. Clay (Georgia) Richard F. Mitchell (Iowa) Henry A. Wallace (Iowa) Thomas J. Courtney (Illinois) William L. Dawson (Illinois) Edward J. Kelly (Illinois) Scott W. Lucas (Illinois) Adolph J. Sabath (Illinois) John Thompson (Illinois) Samuel D. Jackson (Indiana) Frank M. McHale (Indiana) Daniel J. Tobin (Indiana) Alben W. Barkley (Kentucky) Emery L. Frazier (Kentucky) Keen Johnson (Kentucky) Jimmie Davis (Louisiana) William P. Grant (Massachusetts) John W. McCormack (Massachusetts) David I. Walsh (Massachusetts) Herbert R. O'Conor (Maryland) Richard T. Frankensteen (Michigan) George D. O'Brien (Michigan) Murray D. Van Wagoner (Michigan) Byron G. Allen (Minnesota) Paul R. Tinge (Minnesota) Bennett Champ Clark (Missouri) Robert E. Hannegan (Missouri) Oscar G. Johnston (Mississippi) Walter Sillers, Jr. (Mississippi) Beatrice Cobb (North Carolina) Josephus Daniels (North Carolina) J. C. B. Ehringhaus (North Carolina) Clyde R. Hoey (North Carolina) Gladys Avery Tillett (North Carolina) Halvor L. Halvorson (North Dakota) William Ritchie (Nebraska) Mary T. Norton (New Jersey) Oscar R. Ewing (New York) Quentin Reynolds (New York) Franklin D. Roosevelt (New York) Martin V. Coffey (Ohio) Robert S. Kerr (Oklahoma) Robert S. Kerr (Oklahoma) William G. Stigler (Oklahoma) John J. Kane (Pennsylvania) David L. Lawrence (Pennsylvania) Emma G. Miller (Pennsylvania) Theodore F. Green (Rhode Island) J. Howard McGrath (Rhode Island) Burnet R. Maybank (South Carolina) Prentice Cooper (Tennessee) Estes Kefauver (Tennessee) Kenneth D. McKellar (Tennessee) Rolland Bradley (Texas) Tom T. Connally (Texas) Maury Hughes (Texas) Herman Jones (Texas) J. Hart Willis (Texas) Warwick C. Lameraux (Utah) Abe Murdock (Utah) Colgate W. Darden, Jr. (Virginia) Joseph Alexander (Virgin Islands) Lester Callaway Hunt (Wyoming)
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/1944/speakers.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]