The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

California Delegation to the
1940 Democratic National Convention

Delegates (may be incomplete!)
Frank H. Buck, Vacaville - J. Frank Burke, Los Angeles - Hugh M. Burns, Fresno - Francis Carr, Redding - Mrs. Frank P. Deering, San Francisco - Isidore B. Dockweiler, Los Angeles - Melvyn Douglas, Los Angeles - J. Ray Files, Los Angeles - William J. Fitzgerald, Roseville - John Anson Ford, Los Angeles - Thomas F. Ford, Los Angeles - John L. Garaventa, Concord - J. C. Garrison, Modesto - Lee E. Geyer, Gardena - Augustus F. Hawkins, Los Angeles - Edward H. Heller - Francis Hertzog, Long Beach - Chet Holifield, Montebello - J. James Hollister, Gaviota - Edouard V. M. Izac, San Diego - Mrs. Mattison Boyd Jones, Glendale - Robert W. Kenny, Los Angeles - Cecil R. King, Los Angeles - Mrs. George J. Knox, San Francisco - Elmer E. Lore, North Hollywood, Los Angeles - William M. Malone, San Francisco - Courtney McCracken, Woodlake - Patrick W. McDonough, Oakland - B. Z. McKinney, Santa Ana - Mrs. Robert McWilliams, San Francisco - Allen J. Moore, Oakland - A. L. Nelson, Fortuna - Culbert L. Olson, Los Angeles - John C. Packard, Pasadena - Paul Peek, Long Beach - Max Radin, Berkeley - Clyde C. Redwine, Mountain View - Mark M. Rose, Holtville - John F. Shelley - Harry R. Sheppard, Yucaipa - Ivan C. Spurbeck, Marysville - W. S. Van Dyke, West Los Angeles - Jerry Voorhis, San Dimas - Alexander Watchman, San Francisco - J. Stitt Wilson, Berkeley - Margaret K. Workman, Los Angeles - Donald R. Younger, Santa Cruz - Robert A. Zarick, Sacramento

Alternates (may be incomplete!)
Mrs. J. A. Bainbridge - Joseph A. Ball - G. Vernon Bennett, Los Angeles - W. M. Bishop - Cecelia Bittner - Amerigo Bozzani, Pasadena - Charles M. Brown - Heber J. Brown - Mrs. T. A. Burnett - Elizabeth L. Carlson - Gertrude V. Clark - Margaret L. Clark - Michael Costello - Fred H. Crone - Daniel F. Del Carlo - Joseph F. De Rosa - Helen Gahagan Douglas - Edward J. Durkin - Mrs. T. G. Emmons - A. F. Gaynor - Cecil Gillett - Evelyn Gillette - Lucretia del Valle Grady - Elizabeth B. Graham - Margaret Gettys Hall - Peirson M. Hall - Naomi Hammond - Olive M. Hanniff - Mrs. Buena M. Harper - Franck R. Havenner - Mrs. Harry G. Henley - Clifton Hildebrand - Clayton L. Howland - Edith B. Kelley - Samson A. Lindauer - Thomas F. Lopez, Fresno - Marcus M. McCallen, Huntington Beach - Ann H. McFarland - Edward L. Mulligan - Ken Murray - Frank Olson - John Olson - Rose Marie Packard - Charles J. Powers - Rosemarie C. Powers - Ethel Reed - Maurice Saeta - James C. Sheppard - A. B. Shore - James G. Smyth - Lodis C. Sniffin - James Marion Tadlock - Guy W. Vandegrift - Leon H. Washington, Jr. - John W. York - Mrs. Marion S. Younger

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/1940/CA.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]