The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Signers, Declaration of Independence, 1776 (may be Incomplete!)
John Adams Samuel Adams Josiah Bartlett Carter Braxton Charles Carroll of Carrollton Samuel Chase Abraham Clark George Clymer William Ellery William Floyd Benjamin Franklin Elbridge Gerry Button Gwinnett Lyman Hall John Hancock Benjamin Harrison John Hart Joseph Hewes Thomas Heyward, Jr. William Hooper Stephen Hopkins Francis Hopkinson Samuel Huntington Thomas Jefferson Francis Lightfoot Lee Richard Henry Lee Francis Lewis Philip Livingston Thomas Lynch, Jr. Thomas McKean Arthur Middleton Lewis Morris Robert Morris John Morton Thomas Nelson, Jr. William Paca Robert Treat Paine John Penn George Read Caesar Rodney George Ross Benjamin Rush Edward Rutledge Roger Sherman James Smith Richard Stockton Thomas Stone George Taylor Matthew Thornton George Walton William Whipple William Williams James Wilson John Witherspoon Oliver Wolcott, Sr. George Wythe

Signers, Articles of Confederation, 1777, 1777-1781 (may be Incomplete!)
Thomas Adams Elbridge Gerry John Harvie Edward Langworthy Henry Marchant Gouverneur Morris John Penn Roger Sherman Edward Telfair Nicholas Van Dyke John Walton Andrew Adams John Banister William Clingan Francis Dana Richard Hutson John Wentworth, Jr. Josiah Bartlett Daniel Carroll John Hanson Thomas McKean

Members, U.S. Constitutional Convention, 1787-1788 (may be Incomplete!)
Abraham Baldwin Richard Bassett Gunning Bedford, Jr. John Blair William Blount David Brearley Jacob Broom Pierce Butler Daniel Carroll George Clymer William Richardson Davie Jonathan Dayton John Dickinson Oliver Ellsworth William Few Thomas Fitzsimons Benjamin Franklin Elbridge Gerry Nicholas Gilman Nathaniel Gorham Alexander Hamilton William Churchill Houston William Houstoun Jared Ingersoll Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer William Samuel Johnson Rufus King John Langdon John Lansing, Jr. William Livingston James Madison Alexander Martin Luther Martin George Mason James McClurg James McHenry John Francis Mercer Thomas Mifflin Gouverneur Morris Robert Morris William Paterson William Leigh Pierce Charles Pinckney Charles Cotesworth Pinckney Edmund Jenings Randolph George Read John Rutledge Roger Sherman Richard Dobbs Spaight Caleb Strong George Washington Hugh Williamson James Wilson George Wythe Robert Yates

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/offices/founders.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]