The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

U.S. Politicians who were born in Ukraine

  Ukraine (no city given): Jacob J. Kleinsasser, 1872 — Jacob Panken, 1879 — Albert M. Greenfield, 1887 — Samuel B. Ostrow, 1900 — Myron Leskiw, 1909 — David Stahl, 1920
  Russia (part now in Ukraine): Jacob Muhlbeier, 1857 — Henry Stoller, 1858 — Christian Rempfer, 1859 — John J. Wipf, 1870
  Alt Danzig, Russia (now Krupskoe, Ukraine): Theodore Berndt, 1858
  Berlinez: Benjamin Antin, 1884
  Buchach: Bohdan Futey, 1939
  Chernowitz, Austria-Hungary (now Chernivtsi, Ukraine): Samuel Fassler, c.1889
  Dymer, Russia (now Ukraine): Louis B. Mayer, 1884
  Gorodok: Clara Shavelson, 1886
  Hutterthal, Russia (now Ukraine): David J. Mendel, 1868
  Johannestal, Russia (now Ivanivka, Ukraine): J. W. Ulmer, 1862
  Kherson, Russia (now Ukraine): John Bibelheimer, 1876
  Kiev (Kyiv): Nicholas Aleinikoff, 1861 — Moissaye J. Olgin, 1878 — Bernard Ginsburg, 1898 — Herman Toll, 1907
  Korsun, Russia (now Korsun-Shevchenkivskyi, Ukraine): Louis B. Boudin, 1874
  Neu Berlin, Russia (now Worobeyeva, Ukraine): Otto J. Kundert, 1888
  Odessa: Leon Sanders, 1867 — Herman P. Kopplemann, 1880
  Odessa, Russia (now Ukraine): Alfred W. Smith, 1870 — Felix W. Smith, 1872 — William Albertson, 1910 — Cedor Aronow, 1910
  Near Odessa, Russia (now Ukraine): John Hirning, 1875
  Radekhiv: Paul P. Kleinsasser, 1877
  Sevastopol, Russia (now Ukraine): Emerio Mattievich, 1882
  Stanyslawow, Galicia (now Ivano-Frankivsk, Ukraine): Arthur F. Burns, 1904
  Talna, Russia (now Talne, Ukraine): Charles Zimmerman, 1896
  Yancherudnia, Russia (now Ukraine): Louis Waldman, 1892
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/UP-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]