The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Northern Ireland

U.S. Politicians who were born in Northern Ireland

  Northern Ireland (no city given): John McKinly, 1721 — Matthew Locke, 1730 — William McCreery, 1750 — Patrick McGriff, c.1760 — John Boyle, Jr., 1876
  Altmore, County Tyrone, Ireland (now Northern Ireland): James Shields, 1806
  Ballymena, County Antrim, Ireland (now Northern Ireland): James McHenry, 1753
  Banbridge, County Down, Ireland (now Northern Ireland): James Shields, 1762
  Belfast, Ireland (now Northern Ireland): John H. Graham, 1835 — John M. C. Smith, 1853 — Isabelle M. Summers, 1887
  Near Belfast, Ireland (now Northern Ireland): Alexander Harper, 1786 — James Kirk, 1834 — W. Godfrey Hunter, 1841
  Brookeborough, County Fermanagh, Ireland (now Northern Ireland): John Armstrong, 1717
  Coleraine, County Antrim, Ireland (now Northern Ireland): William F. Quigg, 1863
  Near Coleraine, County Antrim, Ireland (now Northern Ireland): Samuel Fleming Barr, 1829
  County Antrim, Ireland (now Northern Ireland): William Candler, 1736 — William Bratton, 1742 — William Paterson, 1745 — Alexander Macomb, 1748 — Charles Magill, 1760 — John Johnston, 1765 — James B. Reynolds, 1779 — William Armstrong, 1782 — James Boyd, 1792 — John T. Mills, 1817 — John Young, c.1821 — Samuel A. Browne, 1834 — William J. Kershaw, c.1834
  County Armagh, Ireland (now Northern Ireland): Isaac Marston, 1839 — Thomas H. Duffy, 1880 — John J. McCreesh, 1881
  County Down, Ireland (now Northern Ireland): Thomas Henry, 1779 — Samuel Sloan, 1817 — Robert T. Davis, 1823 — George Sinton, 1886
  County Fermanagh, Ireland (now Northern Ireland): William Irvine, 1741 — Arthur Dixon, 1837 — James Gunn, 1843 — Francis Carney, 1846
  County Londonderry, Ireland (now Northern Ireland): John Linton, 1773 — William Smyth, 1819
  County Tyrone, Ireland (now Northern Ireland): Matthew Thornton, 1713 — John Kerr, c.1778 — James Weir, 1802 — James McDowell, c.1808 — William E. Robinson, 1814 — William Smyth, 1824 — John George Warwick, 1830 — James G. Fair, 1831 — James E. Boyd, 1834 — William McAleer, 1838 — John Russell Young, 1840 — John K. Tener, 1863 — Fred L. Dunlap, 1882
  Dromore, County Down, Ireland (now Northern Ireland): Joseph Mullin, 1811 — Samuel McMillan, 1850
  Near Dungannon, County Tyrone, Ireland (now Northern Ireland): John Johnson, 1805
  Gilford, County Down, Ireland (now Northern Ireland): William B. Gourley, 1856
  Gortin, County Tyrone, Ireland (now Northern Ireland): William J. McKenna, 1854
  Killyleagh, County Down, Ireland (now Northern Ireland): Thomas L. Young, 1832
  Larne, County Antrim, Ireland (now Northern Ireland): James McHenry, 1785
  Londonderry, Ireland (now Northern Ireland): Patrick Beard, 1769 — Henry Boyce, 1797 — David Baird, 1839 — John M. Wiley, 1841 — Richard Young, 1846 — James M. Hazlett, 1864 — Frank J. McNulty, 1872 — Thomas H. Johnston, 1872
  Near Newton Stewart, County Tyrone, Ireland (now Northern Ireland): Thomas Burnside, 1782
  Newtown Limavady, County Londonderry, Ireland (now Limavady, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland): Henry Osborne, 1751
  Omagh, County Tyrone, Ireland (now Northern Ireland): William McCreery, 1786
  Plumbridge, County Tyrone, Ireland (now Northern Ireland): Robert C. Dunn, 1855
  Stewartstown, County Tyrone, Ireland (now Northern Ireland): William Beatty, 1787
  Strabane, County Tyrone, Ireland (now Northern Ireland): John Erskine, 1813
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/UL-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]