The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
United Kingdom

U.S. diplomatic chiefs of mission to United Kingdom

John Adams (Minister to Great Britain 1785-88) Thomas Pinckney (Minister to Great Britain 1792-96) Rufus King (Minister to Great Britain 1796-1803) James Monroe (Minister to Great Britain 1803-07) William Pinkney (Minister to Great Britain 1808-11) Jonathan Russell (Charge d'Affaires to Great Britain 1811-12) John Quincy Adams (Minister to Great Britain 1815-17) Richard Rush (Minister to Great Britain 1817-25) Rufus King (Minister to Great Britain 1825-26) Albert Gallatin (Minister to Great Britain 1826-27) James Barbour (Minister to Great Britain 1828-29) Louis McLane (Minister to Great Britain 1829-31) Martin Van Buren (Minister to Great Britain 1831-32) Aaron Vail (Charge d'Affaires to Great Britain 1832-36) Andrew Stevenson (Minister to Great Britain 1836-41) Edward Everett (Minister to Great Britain 1841-45) Louis McLane (Minister to Great Britain 1845-46) George Bancroft (Minister to Great Britain 1846-49) Abbott Lawrence (Minister to Great Britain 1849-52) Joseph Reed Ingersoll (Minister to Great Britain 1852-53) James Buchanan (Minister to Great Britain 1853-56) George M. Dallas (Minister to Great Britain 1856-61) Charles Francis Adams (Minister to Great Britain 1861-68) Reverdy Johnson (Minister to Great Britain 1868-69) J. Lothrop Motley (Minister to Great Britain 1869-70) Robert C. Schenck (Minister to Great Britain 1870-76) Edwards Pierrepont (Minister to Great Britain 1876-77) John Welsh (Minister to Great Britain 1877-79) James Russell Lowell (Minister to Great Britain 1880-85) Edward John Phelps (Minister to Great Britain 1885-89) Robert Todd Lincoln (Minister to Great Britain 1889-93) John Hay (Ambassador to Great Britain 1893-98) Thomas F. Bayard, Sr. (Ambassador to Great Britain 1893-97) Joseph Hodges Choate (Ambassador to Great Britain 1899-1905) Whitelaw Reid (Ambassador to Great Britain 1905-12) Walter H. Page (Ambassador to Great Britain 1913-18) John W. Davis (Ambassador to Great Britain 1918-21) George Harvey (Ambassador to Great Britain 1921-23) Frank B. Kellogg (Ambassador to Great Britain 1923-25) Alanson B. Houghton (Ambassador to Great Britain 1925-29) Charles G. Dawes (Ambassador to Great Britain 1929-31) Andrew W. Mellon (Ambassador to Great Britain 1932-33) Robert Worth Bingham (Ambassador to Great Britain 1933-37) Joseph P. Kennedy (Ambassador to Great Britain 1938-40) John G. Winant (Ambassador to Great Britain 1941-46) W. Averell Harriman (Ambassador to Great Britain 1946) Lewis W. Douglas (Ambassador to Great Britain 1947-50) Walter Sherman Gifford (Ambassador to Great Britain 1950-53) Winthrop W. Aldrich (Ambassador to Great Britain 1953-57) John Hay Whitney (Ambassador to Great Britain 1957-61) David K. E. Bruce (Ambassador to Great Britain 1961-69) Walter H. Annenberg (Ambassador to Great Britain 1969-74) Elliot L. Richardson (Ambassador to Great Britain 1975-76) Anne Armstrong (Ambassador to Great Britain 1976-77) Kingman Brewster, Jr. (Ambassador to Great Britain 1977-81) John J. Louis, Jr. (Ambassador to Great Britain 1981-83) Charles H. Price II (Ambassador to Great Britain 1983-89) Henry E. Catto, Jr. (Ambassador to Great Britain 1989-91) Raymond George Hardenbergh Seitz (Ambassador to Great Britain 1991-94) William J. Crowe, Jr. (Ambassador to Great Britain 1994-97) Philip J. Lader (Ambassador to Great Britain 1997-2001) William S. Farish (Ambassador to Great Britain 2001-)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/UK-diplomats.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]