The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

U.S. diplomatic chiefs of mission to Turkey

David Porter (Charge d'Affaires 1831-39) David Porter (Minister 1839-43) Dabney Smith Carr (Minister 1843-49) George P. Marsh (Minister 1849-53) Carroll Spence (Minister 1853-57) James Williams (Minister 1858-61) Edward Joy Morris (Minister 1861-70) Wayne MacVeagh (Minister 1870-71) George H. Boker (Minister 1871-75) Horace Maynard (Minister 1875-80) James Longstreet (Minister 1880-81) Lewis Wallace (Minister 1881-85) Samuel S. Cox (Minister 1885-86) William C. Emmet (Charge d'Affaires 1885) Oscar S. Straus (Minister 1887-89) Solomon Hirsch (Minister 1889-92) David P. Thompson (Minister 1892-93) Alexander Terrell (Minister 1893-97) James B. Angell (Minister 1897-98) Oscar S. Straus (Minister 1898-99) John G. A. Leishman (Minister 1900-06) John G. A. Leishman (Ambassador 1906-09) Oscar S. Straus (Ambassador 1909-10) William W. Rockhill (Ambassador 1911-13) Henry Morgenthau (Ambassador 1913-16) Abram I. Elkus (Ambassador 1916-17) Joseph C. Grew (Ambassador 1927-32) Charles H. Sherrill (Ambassador 1932-33) Robert P. Skinner (Ambassador 1933-36) John Van A. MacMurray (Ambassador 1936-41) Laurence A. Steinhardt (Ambassador 1942-45) Edwin C. Wilson (Ambassador 1945-48) George Wadsworth II (Ambassador 1948-52) George C. McGhee (Ambassador 1952-53) Avra M. Warren (Ambassador 1953-56) Fletcher Warren (Ambassador 1956-60) Raymond A. Hare (Ambassador 1961-65) Parker T. Hart (Ambassador 1965-68) Robert Komer (Ambassador 1968-69) William J. Handley (Ambassador 1969-73) William Butts Macomber, Jr. (Ambassador 1973-77) Ronald I. Spiers (Ambassador 1977-80) James W. Spain (Ambassador 1980-81) Robert Strausz-Hupé (Ambassador 1981-89) Morton I. Abramowitz (Ambassador 1989-91) Richard Clark Barkley (Ambassador 1991-94) Marc Isaiah Grossman (Ambassador 1994-97) Mark Robert Parris (Ambassador 1997-2000) W. Robert Pearson (Ambassador 2000-03) Eric S. Edelman (Ambassador 2003-05) Ross L. Wilson (Ambassador 2005-08) James Franklin Jeffrey (Ambassador 2008-10)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/TK-diplomats.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]