The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

U.S. diplomatic chiefs of mission to Sweden

Benjamin Franklin (Minister 1782-83) Jonathan Russell (Minister 1814-18) Christopher Hughes (Charge d'Affaires 1818-25) John James Appleton (Charge d'Affaires 1826-30) Christopher Hughes (Charge d'Affaires 1830-41) George W. Lay (Charge d'Affaires 1842-45) Henry W. Ellsworth (Charge d'Affaires 1845-49) Francis Schroeder (Charge d'Affaires 1849-54) Francis Schroeder (Minister 1854-57) Benjamin F. Angel (Minister 1857-61) Jacob S. Haldeman (Minister 1861-64) James H. Campbell (Minister 1864-67) Joseph J. Bartlett (Minister 1867-69) Christopher Columbus Andrews (Minister 1869-77) John L. Stevens (Minister 1877-83) William W. Thomas, Jr. (Minister 1883-85) Rufus Magee (Minister 1885-89) William W. Thomas, Jr. (Minister 1889-94) Thomas Barker Ferguson (Minister 1894-98) William W. Thomas, Jr. (Minister 1898-1905) Charles H. Graves (Minister 1905-13) Ira Nelson Morris (Minister 1914-23) Robert Woods Bliss (Minister 1923-27) Leland Harrison (Minister 1927-29) John M. Morehead (Minister 1930-33) Laurence A. Steinhardt (Minister 1933-37) Fred Morris Dearing (Minister 1937-38) Frederick A. Sterling (Minister 1938-41) Herschel V. Johnson II (Minister 1941-46) Louis G. Dreyfus, Jr. (Minister 1946-47) H. Freeman Matthews (Ambassador 1947-50) W. Walton Butterworth (Ambassador 1950-53) John M. Cabot (Ambassador 1954-57) Francis White (Ambassador 1957-58) James C. H. Bonbright (Ambassador 1958-61) J. Graham Parsons (Ambassador 1961-67) William W. Heath (Ambassador 1967-69) Jerome H. Holland (Ambassador 1970-72) Robert Strausz-Hupé (Ambassador 1974-76) David S. Smith (Ambassador 1976-77) Rodney O'Gliasain Kennedy-Minott (Ambassador 1977-80) Franklin S. Forsberg (Ambassador 1981-85) Gregory J. Newell (Ambassador 1985-89) Charles Edgar Redman (Ambassador 1989-92) Thomas L. Siebert (Ambassador 1994-97) Lyndon Lowell Olson, Jr. (Ambassador 1997-2001) Charles A. Heimbold, Jr. (Ambassador 2001-04) Teel Bivins (Ambassador 2004-06) Michael Wood (Ambassador 2006-)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/SW-diplomats.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]