The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

U.S. diplomatic chiefs of mission to Spain

John Jay (Minister 1779-82) William Carmichael (Charge d'Affaires 1783-94) William Short (Minister 1794-95) David Humphreys (Minister 1796-1801) Charles Pinckney (Minister 1801-04) George W. Erving (Minister 1814-19) John Forsyth (Minister 1819-23) Hugh Nelson (Minister 1823-25) Alexander H. Everett (Minister 1825-29) Cornelius P. Van Ness (Minister 1829-36) John H. Eaton (Minister 1836-40) Aaron Vail (Charge d'Affaires 1840-42) Washington Irving (Minister 1842-46) Romulus M. Saunders (Minister 1846-49) Daniel M. Barringer (Minister 1849-53) Pierre Soulé (Minister 1853-55) Augustus C. Dodge (Minister 1855-59) William Preston (Minister 1859-61) Carl Schurz (Minister 1861) Gustavus Koerner (Minister 1862-64) John P. Hale (Minister 1865-69) Daniel E. Sickles (Minister 1869-74) Caleb Cushing (Minister 1874-77) James Russell Lowell (Minister 1877-80) Lucius Fairchild (Minister 1880-81) Hannibal Hamlin (Minister 1881-82) John W. Foster (Minister 1883-85) Jabez L. M. Curry (Minister 1885-88) Perry Belmont (Minister 1888-89) Thomas W. Palmer (Minister 1889-90) E. Burd Grubb (Minister 1890-92) A. Loudon Snowden (Minister 1892-93) Hannis Taylor (Minister 1893-97) Stewart L. Woodford (Minister 1897-98) Bellamy Storer (Minister 1899-1902) Arthur S. Hardy (Minister 1902-05) William Miller Collier (Minister 1905-09) Henry C. Ide (Minister 1909-13) Joseph E. Willard (Ambassador 1913-21) Cyrus E. Woods (Ambassador 1921-23) Alexander P. Moore (Ambassador 1923-25) Ogden H. Hammond (Ambassador 1925-29) Irwin Laughlin (Ambassador 1929-33) Claude G. Bowers (Ambassador 1933-39) Alexander W. Weddell (Ambassador 1939-42) Carlton J. H. Hayes (Ambassador 1942-45) Norman Armour (Ambassador 1945) Stanton Griffis (Ambassador 1951-52) Lincoln MacVeagh (Ambassador 1952-53) James Clement Dunn (Ambassador 1953-55) John Davis Lodge (Ambassador 1955-61) A. J. Drexel Biddle, Jr. (Ambassador 1961) Robert F. Woodward (Ambassador 1962-65) Angier Biddle Duke (Ambassador 1965-68) Robert F. Wagner, Jr. (Ambassador 1968-69) Robert C. Hill (Ambassador 1969-72) Horacio Rivero (Ambassador 1972-74) Wells Stabler (Ambassador 1975-78) Terence A. Todman (Ambassador 1978-83) Thomas O. Enders (Ambassador 1983-86) Reginald Bartholomew (Ambassador 1986-89) Joseph Zappala (Ambassador 1989-92) Richard G. Capen, Jr. (Ambassador 1992-93) Richard N. Gardner (Ambassador 1993-97) Edward L. Romero (Ambassador 1998-2001) George L. Argyros, Sr. (Ambassador 2001-04) Eduardo Aguirre, Jr. (Ambassador 2005-09)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/SP-diplomats.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]