The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

U.S. consular officials in Scotland

   Aberdeen: Alexander Brand (Consular Agent as of 1871) John Ramsay (Consular Agent as of 1880-89) Andrew Murray (Consular Agent as of 1896-1904) Adolph Danziger (Consular Agent 1904-05) William P. Quann (Consular Agent 1906-11) George McClellan Wells (Consular Agent as of 1919)
   Dundee: Edward Baxter (Consul 1834-45) Stewart Steel (Consul 1846-50) James McDowell (Consul 1850-53) Thomas Steere (Consul 1853-58) Joseph B. Holderby (Consul 1858-61) Hugh Smith (Consul 1861-62) I. E. Carraher (Consular Agent 1861-62) James Smith (Consul 1863-71) Matthew McDougall (Consul as of 1874) William Reid (Vice Consul as of 1874) John F. Winter (Consul 1881) Willard B. Wells (Consul as of 1884) William McIntyre (Vice & Deputy Consul as of 1884) Allan Baxter (Vice Consul 1892) Allan Baxter (Vice & Deputy Consul 1892-93) John M. Savage (Vice Consul 1893-94) George W. Savage (Consul 1893) Allan Baxter (Deputy Consul 1893-94) John M. Savage (Consul 1894-97) Allan Baxter (Vice & Deputy Consul 1894-1905) John C. Higgins (Consul 1897-1905) W. Stanley Hollis (Consul 1909-10) E. Haldeman Dennison (Consul 1910-15) Charles L. Latham (Consul 1915-17) Martin J. Gallagher (Vice Consul as of 1919) Henry A. Johnson (Consul 1919-24) William Anderson Poindexter (Vice Consul 1919-22) William N. Carroll (Vice Consul 1923) T. Monroe Fisher (Vice Consul 1924-25) William A. Hickey (Vice Consul as of 1926-29) Maxwell K. Moorhead (Consul as of 1926-27) John J. C. Watson (Consul as of 1929-32) John Howe Fuqua (Vice Consul 1930-31) Julian K. Smedberg (Vice Consul 1932-38) Maurice P. Dunlap (Consul 1932-35) E. Talbot Smith (Consul 1935-36)
   Dunfermline: George H. Scidmore (Vice Consul 1877-84) H. Ray Myers (Commercial Agent as of 1884) James Penman (Vice Commercial Agent as of 1884-97) Lucien J. Walker (Commercial Agent 1885-89) James D. Reid (Commercial Agent as of 1897) John N. McCunn (Consul 1897-1908) James Penman (Vice Consul as of 1898) Charles Drysdale (Vice Consul as of 1899-1905) Maxwell Blake (Consul 1907-10) Howard D. Van Sant (Consul 1910-22) Albert W. Scott (Vice Consul 1920-21) Warren C. Stewart (Vice Consul as of 1922) Bernard F. Hale (Consul 1925)
   Edinburgh: Frederick P. Piatt (Vice & Deputy Consul 1894-1911) Rufus Fleming (Consul 1897-1920) Roy W. Baker (Vice Consul 1919-20) H. Tobey Mooers (Vice Consul 1920) Alexander G. Swaney (Vice Consul as of 1922) Hunter Sharp (Consul as of 1922) Thomas J. Maleady (Vice Consul 1923-25) Wilbert L. Bonney (Consul 1924-26) Clarence P. Harper (Vice Consul as of 1927) Harold D. Finley (Consul 1927-30) Edwin B. Earnest (Vice Consul 1930-33) Austin C. Brady (Consul as of 1932) Julian K. Smedberg (Vice Consul 1938-43) Charles Roy Nasmith (Consul as of 1943)
   Galashiels: Richard Lees (Consular Agent as of 1884) John Stalker (Consular Agent as of 1897-99)
   Glasgow: John J. Murray (Consul 1801-07) Harvey Strong (Consul 1820-24) David Walker (Consul 1824-31) Alexander Thompson (Consul 1831-43) Thomas McGuire (Consul 1843-45) Joseph Cowdin (Consul 1845-50) Day O. Kellogg (Consul 1850-53) Philip T. Heartt (Consul 1853-58) George Vail (Consul 1858-61) John S. Prettyman (Consul 1861-62) William Cook (Vice Consul 1861-63) Warner L. Underwood (Consul 1862-64) J. M. Bailey (Consul 1864-66) Bret Harte (Consul 1880-85) William Gibson (Vice Consul as of 1884-1905) Francis H. Underwood (Consul 1885-89) Allen B. Morse (Consul 1893-97) Samuel M. Taylor (Consul 1897-1906) John McFadzean (Deputy Consul as of 1899-1905) Richard W. Austin (Consul 1906-07) Alfred Middleton (Deputy Consul 1906-07) Alfred Middleton (Vice Consul 1907-09) John N. McCunn (Consul 1908-19) Alfred Middleton (Deputy Consul 1909-11) Thomas H. Bevan (Vice Consul 1917-19) Joseph S. Hollister (Vice Consul as of 1919) George E. Chamberlin (Consul 1919-26) Edward G. Greenlaw (Vice Consul as of 1922) Edward B. Cipriani (Vice Consul as of 1922-26) L. Pittman Springs (Vice Consul as of 1926-29) Scott S. Levisee (Vice Consul as of 1926) Leslie E. Woods (Consul as of 1927-29) Ernest V. Polutnik (Vice Consul as of 1927-29) George E. Chamberlin (Consul General as of 1927-30) Leo E. Schumacher (Vice Consul 1927-28) Marcel E. Malige (Consul 1928-32) Reginald S. Castleman (Consul 1929-30) J. Forrest Ingle (Vice Consul 1929-33) George J. Haering (Consul 1931-33) Samuel W. Honaker (Consul General as of 1932) Hadley V. Cooke, Jr. (Vice Consul as of 1938) T. Leonard Lilliestrom (Vice Consul 1938) Courtland Christiani (Vice Consul 1938) Leslie A. Davis (Consul General as of 1938) Donal F. McGonigal (Vice Consul 1941-43) Charles James Kolinski (Vice Consul as of 1943) Hugh H. Watson (Consul General as of 1943) Taylor G. Belcher (Consul 1950-54)
   Greenock: John Craig (Consular Agent as of 1884) James A. Love (Consular Agent 1891-1911)
   Kirkcaldy: Andrew Innes (Consular Agent as of 1884-99) J. Lockhart Innes (Consular Agent as of 1904-05)
   Leith: Harry Grant (Consul 1798-1817) Joel Hart (Consul 1817-33) Robert Grieve (Consul 1833-52) James McDowell (Consul 1853-58) Neil McLachlan, Jr. (Consul 1861-66) Hugh C. Peacock (Vice Consul as of 1884) Oscar Malmros (Consul as of 1884) Francis H. Underwood (Consul 1893) Robert J. MacBride (Consul as of 1897) Robert J. McBride (Consul as of 1897)
   Troon: Peter H. Waddell (Consular Agent 1896-1911)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/SD-consuls.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]