The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

U.S. consular officials in Romania

Honorary consuls in U.S. territories representing Romania

   Bucharest: Eugene Schuyler (Consul General as of 1880-82) — Fulton Paul (Consul General as of 1884) — William G. Boxshall (Vice Consul General as of 1884-1905) — Eben Alexander (Consul General as of 1893-97) — Thomas E. Moore (Consul General as of 1906) — Roland B. Harvey (Consul General 1910-11) — Charles Campbell, Jr. (Consul General as of 1914) — William G. Boxshall (Vice & Deputy Consul General as of 1914) — Edwin C. Kemp (Consul 1919-21) — Raymond J. Whitney (Vice Consul as of 1920) — Donald R. Heath (Vice Consul 1921-23) — Ely E. Palmer (Consul 1921-26) — Donald F. Bigelow (Vice Consul 1921) — Edward Caffery (Vice Consul 1921-24) — John H. E. McAndrews (Vice Consul 1922-30) — Edward Caffery (Consul 1924-25) — J. Rives Childs (Consul 1925-30) — George C. Arnold, Jr. (Vice Consul as of 1926) — Ely E. Palmer (Consul General 1926-29) — Rudolph Peltzer (Vice Consul as of 1929-38) — Charles B. Perkins (Vice Consul 1931-32) — Alfred W. Donegan (Consul 1931-33) — Harry L. Troutman (Consul as of 1932) — Elbridge Durbrow (Vice Consul 1932) — Harold D. Clum (Consul General 1933-35) — George Wadsworth II (Consul General 1935) — Sheldon T. Mills (Consul as of 1938) — Frederick P. Hibbard (Consul as of 1938) — Bernard C. Connelly (Vice Consul as of 1938) — Cloyce K. Huston (Consul as of 1938) — C. Vaughn Ferguson, Jr. (Vice Consul 1946-48) — C. Vaughn Ferguson, Jr. (Consul 1948-49)
   Galatz (Galati): Timothy C. Smith (Consul 1878-83)
   Galatza (Galati): Henry T. Romertze (Consul 1858-62) — Frederick Wippermann (Consul 1862-65) — Oscar Malmros (Consul 1865-67)
   Chicago, Ill.: Walter Brewster (Consul as of 1921) Ira Nelson Morris (Consul General 1929)
   New York, N.Y.: T. Tileston Wells (Honorary Consul General 1919-41)
   Philadelphia, Pa.: Mihail Marian (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/RM-consuls.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]