The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

U.S. Politicians who were born in Quebec

  Quebec (no city given): Prudent Beaudry, 1818 — George D. Auge, 1834 — Edwin R. Thompson, 1842 — Stillman F. Kneeland, 1845 — Philip Plaisance, 1845 — Hascal R. Brill, 1846 — Thomas Rowe, 1848 — Joseph Belanger, 1848 — Alfred Courchesne, 1848 — William S. Kyle, 1851 — Aram J. Pothier, 1854 — Eugene L. Belisle, 1859 — George Comer, c.1859 — John Baird, 1860 — William H. De Savigny, 1860 — Louis Monast, 1863 — Alston Fairservice, 1864 — Michel Ringuet, Jr., 1876 — Christopher S. Flanagan, 1876 — J. Henry Goguen, c.1892
  Beaumont: Edmond Cote, 1863
  Brompton Falls: John H. Stevens, 1820
  Bury: Donald M. McLean, 1862
  Compton: Edwin Parker, c.1830 — William W. Grout, 1836 — Josiah Grout, 1841
  Cowansville: William J. Connell, 1846
  Danville: James F. McLam, 1875
  East Clifton: Richard W. Taylor, 1880
  East Hatley, Compton County: Charles A. Boynton, 1867
  Fort Lennox: Lawrence C. Fyfe, 1850
  Gaspé: Fred D. Vibert, 1873
  Hatley: Othman A. Abbott, 1842 — John S. Sweeney, 1851
  Hemmingford: Robert R. Greer, 1842 — Martin Beattie Fisher, 1881
  Hunterstown (now Louise): J. Lincoln Newhall, 1870
  Iberville (now part of St.-Jean-sur-Richelieu): Frederick M. Ryder, 1852
  L'Asumption: Solomon Juneau, 1793
  L'Avenir: E. W. Griffith, 1862
  Laprairie: Michel Brindamour Menard, 1805 — Martin T. McMahon, 1838 — Aylmer R. Lawson, 1887
  Lennoxville (now part of Sherbrooke): Archibald C. Hart, 1873
  Melbourne (now part of Richmond): William A. Gleeson, 1876
  Montreal: Jacob D. Cox, 1828 — John L. Jolley, 1840 — George B. Forrester, 1862 — Tom Crawford, 1863 — Peter Anderson, 1864 — William J. Deshano, 1867 — George N. Higgins, 1900 — David Englestein, c.1905 — William S. Farrell, 1907 — George M. Smith, 1912 — Dave Mawhinney, 1914 — Malachy Edward Mannion, 1953 — Geoff Davis, 1958 — Myron Rosner, c.1960
  Nicolet: William A. Lemire, 1877
  Ormstown: Andrew Williams, 1828
  Quebec City: Charles A. Houghton, 1870 — Glenn Ford, 1916
  Quyon: Patrick J. O'Malley, c.1904
  Richmond: Ernest J. Astell, 1874
  Roxham: David A. Elliott, 1864 — J. Wesley Miller, 1869
  St. Catherine: John Conway, 1841
  St. David, Yamaska: Remi L. Gendron, 1898
  Near St. Hyacinthe: Felix Hébert, 1874
  St. Nicholas: Leander Simoneau, 1834
  St. Simon: Alphonse Roy, 1897
  St. Sylvester: Michael C. Burns, 1875
  St. Valentine: Frank Carpentier, 1840
  Saint-Antoine-sur-Richelieu: Damien Marchessault, 1818
  Saint-Georges-de-Windsor: Douglas P. Auclair, 1871
  Saint-Norbert: Emelien Roch, 1864
  Saint-Paul: Adelard Archambault, 1860
  Sainte-Madeleine: Josaphat T. Benoit, 1900
  Sainte-Monique: William H. Trudel, 1866
  Shefford: James Nathan Castle, 1836 — Charles Ham, 1851
  Sherbrooke: William G. Park, 1889 — Sean Patrick Maloney, 1966
  Sorel, Lower Canada (now part of Sorel-Tracy, Quebec): Norman W. Kittson, 1814
  Stanbridge: Edwin J. Phelps, 1829
  Stanstead: Benjamin H. Steele, 1837 — Horace Denison Beebe, 1855 — Patrick J. Farrell, 1861 — John M. Bradley, 1882
  Stanstead County: Azariah Boody, 1815
  Sutton: Columbus Sewell Scofield, 1860
  Tingwick: Edmond P. Talbot, 1884
  Waterloo: Michael J. Hart, 1877
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/QB-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]