The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

U.S. diplomatic chiefs of mission to Peru

James Cooley (Charge d'Affaires 1826-28) Samuel Larned (Charge d'Affaires 1828-37) James B. Thornton (Charge d'Affaires 1837-38) J. C. Pickett (Charge d'Affaires 1838-45) John A. Bryan (Charge d'Affaires 1845) Albert G. Jewett (Charge d'Affaires 1845-47) John R. Clay (Charge d'Affaires 1847-53) John R. Clay (Minister 1853-60) Christopher Robinson (Minister 1861-65) Alvin P. Hovey (Minister 1865-70) Thomas Settle (Minister 1871) Francis Thomas (Minister 1872-75) Richard Gibbs (Minister 1875-79) Isaac P. Christiancy (Minister 1879-81) Stephen A. Hurlbut (Minister 1881-82) James R. Partridge (Minister 1882-83) Seth Ledyard Phelps (Minister 1883-85) Charles W. Buck (Minister 1885-89) John Hicks (Minister 1889-93) James A. McKenzie (Minister 1893-97) Irving B. Dudley (Minister 1897-1907) Leslie Combs (Minister 1907-11) H. Clay Howard (Minister 1911-13) Benton McMillin (Minister 1913-19) William E. Gonzales (Ambassador 1919-21) Miles Poindexter (Ambassador 1923-28) Alexander P. Moore (Ambassador 1928-29) Fred Morris Dearing (Ambassador 1930-37) Laurence A. Steinhardt (Ambassador 1937-39) R. Henry Norweb (Ambassador 1940-43) John Campbell White (Ambassador 1944-45) William D. Pawley (Ambassador 1945-46) Prentice Cooper (Ambassador 1946-48) Harold H. Tittmann, Jr. (Ambassador 1948-55) Ellis O. Briggs (Ambassador 1955-56) Theodore C. Achilles (Ambassador 1956-60) Selden Chapin (Ambassador 1960) James I. Loeb (Ambassador 1961-62) J. Wesley Jones (Ambassador 1962-69) Taylor G. Belcher (Ambassador 1969-74) Robert W. Dean (Ambassador 1974-77) Harry W. Shlaudeman (Ambassador 1977-80) Edwin G. Corr (Ambassador 1980-81) Frank V. Ortiz (Ambassador 1981-83) David C. Jordan (Ambassador 1984-86) Alexander Fletcher Watson (Ambassador 1986-89) Anthony Cecil Eden Quainton (Ambassador 1989-92) Alvin P. Adams, Jr. (Ambassador 1993-96) Dennis C. Jett (Ambassador 1996-99) John R. Hamilton (Ambassador 1999-2002) John R. Dawson (Ambassador 2002-03)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/PU-diplomats.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]