The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
New Zealand

U.S. consular officials in New Zealand

   Auckland: George W. Roosevelt (Consul 1877-79) — Gilderoy W. Griffin (Consul as of 1880-83) — Alexander H. Shipley (Vice Consul as of 1880) — Thomas T. Gamble (Vice Consul as of 1884) — John Tyler Cambpell (Consul as of 1888) — Francis R. Webb (Vice Consul as of 1888) — Leonard A. Bachelder (Vice Consul 1891-1903) — John D. Connolly (Consul as of 1897) — Frank Dillingham (Consul 1897-1903) — Leonard A. Bachelder (Vice Consul General 1903-15) — Frank Dillingham (Consul General 1903-05) — William A. Prickitt (Consul General 1905-14) — Joseph I. Brittain (Consul General 1914-15) — Leonard A. Bachelder (Vice Consul 1915-43) — Alfred A. Winslow (Consul General 1915-20) — Charles Gilbert Winslow (Vice Consul as of 1919) — William J. McCafferty (Vice Consul 1920-21) — Karl MacVitty (Consul 1921-22) — Walter F. Boyle (Consul 1925-32) — William P. Cochran, Jr. (Vice Consul as of 1929) — George D. Reuther (Vice Consul as of 1932) — Hiram A. Boucher (Consul 1941-45) — Paul Paddock (Vice Consul as of 1943) — Whitney Young (Consul as of 1947) — James Keough Bishop (Vice Consul 1963-66)
   Christchurch: Robert Pitcaithly (Consular Agent as of 1897-99) — Frank Graham (Consular Agent as of 1904-05) — John Henry Stringer (Consular Agent as of 1919) — Henry P. Bridge (Consular Agent as of 1926-47)
   Dunedin: Henry Driver (Consular Agent as of 1884) — W. G. Neill (Consular Agent as of 1897-99) — Frederick O. Bridgeman (Consular Agent as of 1905-19) — Harman Reeves (Consular Agent as of 1926-47)
   Mangonui: Robert Wyles (Consular Agent as of 1884-98)
   Russell: Henry Stephenson (Consular Agent as of 1884)
   Wellington: W. H. Levin (Consular Agent as of 1884-89) — Thomas Cahill (Consular Agent as of 1897) — John Duncan (Consular Agent as of 1898-1905) — Charles Harcourt Turner (Consular Agent 1910-11) — Arthur Edward Whyte (Consular Agent as of 1919) — David F. Wilber (Consul General as of 1921-22) — John E. Moran (Vice Consul as of 1922) — Marshall I. Mays (Vice Consul as of 1922-27) — Joel C. Hudson (Vice Consul as of 1926-27) — Will L. Lowrie (Consul General as of 1926-29) — Bernard Gotlieb (Consul 1928-33) — John W. Dye (Consul 1930-31) — Leslie W. Johnson (Vice Consul as of 1932) — Calvin M. Hitch (Consul General as of 1932) — Lowell C. Pinkerton (Consul General 1937-38) — Parker T. Hart (Vice Consul as of 1943) — John Evarts Horner (Vice Consul as of 1943) — Thomas S. Horn (Consul as of 1943) — T. Eliot Weil (Vice Consul as of 1943) — Raymond E. Cox (Consul General as of 1943) — John S. Service (Consul as of 1947)
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/NZ-consuls.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]