The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

U.S. diplomatic chiefs of mission to Netherlands

John Adams (Minister 1781-88) William Short (Minister 1792) John Quincy Adams (Minister 1794-97) William Vans Murray (Minister 1797-1801) William Eustis (Minister 1814-18) Alexander H. Everett (Charge d'Affaires 1818-24) Christopher Hughes (Charge d'Affaires 1825-30) William Pitt Preble (Minister 1830-31) Auguste Davezac (Charge d'Affaires 1831-39) Harmanus Bleecker (Charge d'Affaires 1839-42) Christopher Hughes (Charge d'Affaires 1842-45) Auguste Davezac (Charge d'Affaires 1845-50) George Folsom (Charge d'Affaires 1850-53) August Belmont (Charge d'Affaires 1853-54) August Belmont (Minister 1854-57) Henry C. Murphy (Minister 1857-61) James S. Pike (Minister 1861-66) Albert Rhodes (Charge d'Affaires 1866) Hugh Ewing (Minister 1866-70) Charles T. Gorham (Minister 1870-75) James Birney (Minister 1876-82) William L. Dayton (Minister 1882-85) Isaac Bell, Jr. (Minister 1885-88) Robert B. Roosevelt (Minister 1888-89) Samuel R. Thayer (Minister 1889-93) William E. Quinby (Minister 1893-97) Stanford Newel (Minister 1897-1905) David J. Hill (Minister 1905-08) Arthur M. Beaupré (Minister 1908-11) Lloyd Bryce (Minister 1911-13) Henry van Dyke (Minister 1913-17) John W. Garrett (Minister 1917-19) William Phillips (Minister 1920-22) Richard M. Tobin (Minister 1923-29) Gerrit J. Diekema (Minister 1929-30) Lauritz S. Swenson (Minister 1931-34) Grenville T. Emmet (Minister 1934-37) George A. Gordon (Minister 1937-40) A. J. Drexel Biddle, Jr. (Minister 1941-42) A. J. Drexel Biddle, Jr. (Ambassador 1942-43) Stanley K. Hornbeck (Ambassador 1944-47) Herman B. Baruch (Ambassador 1947-49) Selden Chapin (Ambassador 1949-53) H. Freeman Matthews (Ambassador 1953-57) Philip Young (Ambassador 1957-60) John S. Rice (Ambassador 1961-64) William R. Tyler (Ambassador 1965-69) J. William Middendorf II (Ambassador 1969-73) Kingdon Gould, Jr. (Ambassador 1973-76) Robert J. McCloskey (Ambassador 1976-78) Geri M. Joseph (Ambassador 1978-81) William Jennings Dyess (Ambassador 1981-83) Paul Bremer (Ambassador 1983-86) John S. R. Shad (Ambassador 1987-89) C. Howard Wilkins, Jr. (Ambassador 1989-92) K. Terry Dornbush (Ambassador 1994-98) Cynthia P. Schneider (Ambassador 1998-2001) Clifford M. Sobel (Ambassador 2001-)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/NL-diplomats.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]