The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Southern Africa

U.S. consular officials in Mozambique

   Beira: W. B. Diepeveen (Consular Agent as of 1897) William T. Caton (Consular Agent as of 1898) A. Lewis Kidd (Consular Agent as of 1899-1902) Arthur W. H. Glenny (Consular Agent as of 1904-06) Thomas A. Grunwell (Vice Consul 1945)
   Lourenco Marques (Maputo): William E. Hines (Consul 1852-53) George R. Dwyer (Consul 1853-54) Caleb Cooke (Consul 1865-84) James McIntosh (Consular Agent as of 1897) W. Stanley Hollis (Consul 1898-1909) James McIntosh (Vice Consul as of 1899) Fritz Bridler (Vice Consul as of 1905) George A. Chamberlain (Consul 1909-16) James Owen Spence (Vice & Deputy Consul 1910-14) John F. Jewell (Consul as of 1917) James Owen Spence (Vice Consul as of 1917) Cecil M. P. Cross (Consul 1922-24) Ross J. Hazeltine (Consul as of 1922) Louis H. Gourley (Consul 1925) James P. Moffitt (Consul as of 1926) Claude H. Hall, Jr. (Vice Consul 1927) Eugene M. Hinkle (Vice Consul as of 1929) Alfred D. Cameron (Consul as of 1932) Samuel G. Ebling (Consul as of 1938) Curtis C. Jordan (Consul General as of 1947) Donald W. Lamm (Consul 1949-52) Donald W. Lamm (Consul General as of 1952) William Howard Taft III (Consul General 1960-62)
   Mozambique Island: Edward Palmer Turner (Consul 1887) Ernest W. Smith (Consul 1888-89) W. Stanley Hollis (Consul as of 1894)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/MZ-consuls.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]