The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

U.S. diplomatic chiefs of mission to Mexico

William Shaler (Special Diplomatic Agent 1810-12) John H. Robinson (Special Diplomatic Agent 1812-14) Joel Roberts Poinsett (Minister 1825-29) Anthony Butler (Special Diplomatic Agent 1829) Anthony Butler (Charge d'Affaires 1829-35) William A. Slacum (Special Diplomatic Agent 1835-36) Powhatan Ellis (Charge d'Affaires 1836) Robert Greenhow (Special Diplomatic Agent 1837) Powhatan Ellis (Minister 1839-42) Henry E. Lawrence (Special Diplomatic Agent 1842) Waddy Thompson, Jr. (Minister 1842-44) Moses Y. Beach (Special Diplomatic Agent 1843) Gilbert L. Thompson (Special Diplomatic Agent 1844) Wilson Shannon (Minister 1844-45) David Conner (Special Diplomatic Agent 1846) Nathan Clifford (Minister 1848-49) Robert P. Letcher (Minister 1849-52) Robert Greenhow (Special Diplomatic Agent 1850) George G. Goss (Special Diplomatic Agent 1850-52) George W. Slacum (Special Diplomatic Agent 1851) Edward Smith (Special Diplomatic Agent 1852) Alfred Conkling (Minister 1852-53) George E. Cooper (Special Diplomatic Agent 1853) Christopher L. Ward (Special Diplomatic Agent 1853) James Gadsden (Minister 1853-56) Richard S. Spofford (Special Diplomatic Agent 1854) John Forsyth, Jr. (Minister 1856-58) William M. Churchwell (Special Diplomatic Agent 1858) Alfred Mordecai (Special Diplomatic Agent 1858) Duff Green (Special Diplomatic Agent 1859) David Porter (Special Diplomatic Agent 1859) Robert M. McLane (Minister 1859-60) Henry Roy de la Reintrie (Special Diplomatic Agent 1860) John B. Weller (Minister 1860-61) Thomas Corwin (Minister 1861-64) Robert W. Shufelt (Special Diplomatic Agent 1862) Marcus Otterbourg (Minister 1867) William S. Rosecrans (Minister 1868-69) Thomas H. Nelson (Minister 1869-73) John W. Foster (Minister 1873-80) Philip Hickey Morgan (Minister 1880-85) Henry R. Jackson (Minister 1885-86) Thomas Courtland Manning (Minister 1886-87) Edward S. Bragg (Minister 1888-89) Thomas Ryan (Minister 1889-93) Isaac P. Gray (Minister 1893-95) Matt W. Ransom (Minister 1895-97) Powell Clayton (Minister 1897-98) Powell Clayton (Ambassador 1898-1905) Edwin H. Conger (Ambassador 1905) David E. Thompson (Ambassador 1906-09) Henry L. Wilson (Ambassador 1909-12) Henry P. Fletcher (Ambassador 1916-19) Charles B. Warren (Ambassador 1924) James R. Sheffield (Ambassador 1924-27) Dwight W. Morrow (Ambassador 1927-30) J. Reuben Clark, Jr. (Ambassador 1930-33) Josephus Daniels (Ambassador 1933-41) George S. Messersmith (Ambassador 1941-46) Walter C. Thurston (Ambassador 1946-50) William O'Dwyer (Ambassador 1950-52) Francis White (Ambassador 1953-57) Robert C. Hill (Ambassador 1957-60) Thomas C. Mann (Ambassador 1961-63) Fulton Freeman (Ambassador 1964-69) Robert H. McBride (Ambassador 1969-74) Joseph John Jova (Ambassador 1974-77) Patrick J. Lucey (Ambassador 1977-79) Julian Nava (Ambassador 1980-81) John A. Gavin (Ambassador 1981-86) Charles J. Pilliod, Jr. (Ambassador 1986-89) John D. Negroponte (Ambassador 1989-) Jeffrey S. Davidow (Ambassador 1998)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/MX-diplomats.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]