The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
North Africa

U.S. consular officials in Morocco

   Casablanca: John Cobb (Consular Agent as of 1884-99) Conrad H. Toel (Consular Agent 1900-03) Conrad H. Toel (Consular Agent 1904-11) Thomas B. L. Layton (Consul 1919-21) Robert R. Bradford (Consul 1921-24) Charles A. Bay (Vice Consul 1923) H. Earle Russell (Consul as of 1924-29) David C. Elkington (Vice Consul as of 1926) Frederick F. Henrotin (Vice Consul as of 1929-32) Parker W. Buhrman (Consul 1930-34) George D. Hopper (Consul 1934-37) Herbert S. Goold (Consul General 1937-38) W. Quincy Stanton (Consul as of 1938) Russell M. Brooks (Consul 1942-45) Philip H. Bagby (Vice Consul as of 1943) W. Stafford Reid (Vice Consul as of 1943) Kenneth Pendar (Vice Consul as of 1943) Frederic Paul Culbert (Vice Consul as of 1943) William Douglas Read (Vice Consul as of 1943) Harry P. Blank, Jr. (Vice Consul as of 1943) H. Earle Russell (Consul General as of 1943) Charles W. Lewis, Jr. (Consul General as of 1947)
   Larache: M. Abecasis (Consular Agent as of 1884) Harry Carleton (Consular Agent as of 1898)
   Mazagan (El Jadida): Alfred Redman (Consular Agent as of 1884)
   Mogador (Essaouira): Abraham Corcos (Consular Agent as of 1884) George Broome (Consular Agent as of 1898)
   Rabat: Moses Bentar (Consular Agent as of 1884) Elias Bensaude (Consular Agent as of 1897) Ernest de W. Mayer (Consul as of 1943) Hooker A. Doolittle (Consul General as of 1943) Maurice Pasquet (Consul as of 1947)
   Safi: Jacob Benzacar (Consular Agent as of 1884)
   Tangier: John Mullowney (Consul 1820-30) Samuel Carr (Consul 1832-34) Samuel P. Collings (Consul 1854-55) Felix A. Mathews (Consul 1869-70) Felix A. Mathews (Consul 1870-87) E. Kilbourne Foote (Vice Consul 1887) Felix A. Mathews (Consul 1890) Felix A. Mathews (Consul General 1890-93) Frank C. Partridge (Consul General 1897-98) David N. Burke (Consul General as of 1897) E. W. Burke (Vice Consul General as of 1897) Samuel René Gummeré (Consul General 1898-1905) Samuel R. Gunnere (Consul General as of 1898-1902) Ludlow Lilly (Vice & Deputy Consul General as of 1898) Hoffman Philip (Deputy Consul General 1901-02) J. W. S. Langerman (Vice Consul General as of 1902) Hoffman Philip (Vice & Deputy Consul General 1902-06) Hoffman Philip (Consul General 1906-08) William H. Robertson (Consul General 1909-10) Maxwell Blake (Consul General 1910-21) Arthur Gassett (Vice Consul as of 1914-17) Ernest E. Evans (Vice Consul 1919-22) Joseph M. Denning (Consul General as of 1922-24) J. Lee Murphy (Consul as of 1924) Maxwell Blake (Consul General 1925-41) Horace Remillard (Consul as of 1926-29) Donald F. Bigelow (Consul as of 1932) Hooker A. Doolittle (Consul as of 1938) J. Rives Childs (Consul as of 1943) Paul H. Alling (Consul General as of 1947) William Witman II (Consul General 1953-55) C. Vaughn Ferguson, Jr. (Consul General 1955-57) Leo G. Cyr (Consul General 1957)
   Tétouan: Judah S. Levy (Commercial Agent as of 1883-84)
   Tetuan (Tétouan): Isaac L. Cohen (Consular Agent as of 1897)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/MR-consuls.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]