The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

U.S. diplomatic chiefs of mission to Luxembourg

Stanford Newel (Minister 1903-05) David J. Hill (Minister 1905-08) Arthur M. Beaupré (Minister 1908-11) Lloyd Bryce (Minister 1911-13) Henry van Dyke (Minister 1913-17) John W. Garrett (Minister 1917-19) William Phillips (Minister 1920-22) Henry P. Fletcher (Minister 1923-24) William Phillips (Minister 1924-27) Hugh S. Gibson (Minister 1927-33) Dave Hennen Morris (Minister 1933-37) Hugh S. Gibson (Minister 1937-38) Joseph E. Davies (Minister 1938-39) John Cudahy (Minister 1940) Jay Pierrepont Moffat (Minister 1941-43) Ray Atherton (Minister 1943) Rudolf E. Schoenfeld (Charge d'Affaires 1944) Charles W. Sawyer (Minister 1944-45) Alan G. Kirk (Minister 1946-49) Perle Mesta (Minister 1949-53) Wiley T. Buchanan, Jr. (Minister 1953-56) Wiley T. Buchanan, Jr. (Ambassador 1956) Vinton Chapin (Ambassador 1957-60) A. Burks Summers (Ambassador 1960-61) James Wine (Ambassador 1961-62) William R. Rivkin (Ambassador 1962-65) Patricia Roberts Harris (Ambassador 1965-67) George J. Feldman (Ambassador 1967-69) Kingdon Gould, Jr. (Ambassador 1969-72) Ruth Farkas (Ambassador 1973-76) Rosemary L. Ginn (Ambassador 1976-77) James G. Lowenstein (Ambassador 1977-81) John E. Dolibois (Ambassador 1981-85) Jean Broward Shevlin Gerard (Ambassador 1985-90) Edward Morgan Rowell (Ambassador 1990-94) Clay Constantinou (Ambassador 1994-99) James C. Hormel (Ambassador 1999-2001) Peter Terpeluk, Jr. (Ambassador 2002-) Ann Wagner (Ambassador 2005-09)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/LX-diplomats.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]