The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

U.S. consular officials in Lebanon

   Beirut: Henry Wood (Consul 1854-57) — John T. Edgar (Consul as of 1880) — Henry L. Van Dyck (Vice Consul as of 1880) — John S. Robeson (Consul as of 1884) — Percy Martindale (Vice & Deputy Consul as of 1884) — Thomas R. Gibson (Consul 1893-96) — Thomas S. Doyle (Consul as of 1897) — Constantine Khouri (Vice Consul as of 1897) — G. Bie Ravndal (Consul 1898-1905) — Edward G. Freyer (Vice Consul as of 1898) — William C. Magelssen (Vice & Deputy Consul 1899-1905) — Leo Allen Bergholz (Consul General 1905-06) — William C. Magelssen (Vice & Deputy Consul General 1905-06) — G. Bie Ravndal (Consul General 1906-10) — Lucien Memminger (Vice & Deputy Consul 1910-11) — Felix W. Smith (Deputy Consul General 1910-11) — W. Stanley Hollis (Consul General 1911-17) — Felix W. Smith (Vice & Deputy Consul General 1911) — Ralph F. Chesbrough (Vice Consul as of 1914-17) — Paul Knabenshue (Consul as of 1919-27) — John T. McCutcheon (Vice Consul 1919-20) — Frederick O. Bird (Vice Consul 1920-22) — Edward M. Groth (Vice Consul 1923) — Edward M. Groth (Consul 1923-24) — Abbott C. Martin (Vice Consul as of 1924) — Paul H. Alling (Vice Consul 1924-26) — Paul H. Alling (Vice Consul 1926) — Gordon P. Merriam (Vice Consul as of 1927) — Paul H. Alling (Vice Consul 1927-28) — George L. Brandt (Consul 1928-30) — James H. Keeley, Jr. (Consul as of 1929-30) — Donal F. McGonigal (Vice Consul as of 1929-30) — Harry L. Troutman (Consul as of 1929) — Nelle Blossom Stogsdall (Vice Consul as of 1929-31) — Thomas A. Hickok (Vice Consul 1930) — Herbert S. Goold (Consul General 1930-34) — Joseph T. Gilman (Consul 1931-32) — Daniel Gaudin, Jr. (Vice Consul 1931-33) — Christian T. Steger (Consul as of 1932-38) — Raymond A. Hare (Vice Consul 1932-33) — J. Theodore Marriner (Consul General 1935-37) — Easton T. Kelsey (Vice Consul as of 1938) — William S. Farrell (Vice Consul as of 1938) — Ely E. Palmer (Consul General 1938-41) — John H. Madonne (Consul as of 1938) — William Witman II (Vice Consul 1939-44) — William M. Gwynn (Consul as of 1940) — George Wadsworth II (Consul General 1942-44) — Claude G. Ross (Consul 1954-56)
   Sidon (Sidon): S. Abela (Consular Agent as of 1884)
   Tripoli (Tripoli): George Yanni (Consular Agent as of 1884) — Ira Harris (Consular Agent 1899-1911)
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/LN-consuls.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]