The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

U.S. diplomatic chiefs of mission to Iran

S. G. W. Benjamin (Minister to Persia 1883-85) Frederick H. Winston (Minister to Persia 1885-86) E. Spencer Pratt (Minister to Persia 1886-91) Truxtun Beale (Minister to Persia 1891-92) Watson R. Sperry (Minister to Persia 1892-93) Alexander McDonald (Minister to Persia 1893-97) Arthur S. Hardy (Minister to Persia 1897-99) Herbert W. Bowen (Minister to Persia 1899-1901) Lloyd C. Griscom (Minister to Persia 1901-02) Richmond Pearson (Minister to Persia 1902-07) John B. Jackson (Minister to Persia 1907-09) Charles W. Russell (Minister to Persia 1909-14) John L. Caldwell (Minister to Persia 1914-21) Joseph Saul Kornfeld (Minister to Persia 1921-24) Hoffman Philip (Minister to Persia 1925-28) Charles C. Hart (Minister to Persia 1929-33) William H. Hornibrook (Minister to Persia 1933-36) Louis G. Dreyfus, Jr. (Minister 1939-44) Leland B. Morris (Ambassador 1944-45) Wallace Murray (Ambassador 1945-46) George V. Allen (Ambassador 1946-48) John C. Wiley (Ambassador 1948-50) Henry F. Grady (Ambassador 1950-51) Loy W. Henderson (Ambassador 1951-54) Selden Chapin (Ambassador 1955-58) Edward T. Wailes (Ambassador 1958-61) Julius C. Holmes (Ambassador 1961-65) Armin H. Meyer (Ambassador 1965-69) Douglas MacArthur II (Ambassador 1969-72) Joseph S. Farland (Ambassador 1972-73) Richard Helms (Ambassador 1973-77) William H. Sullivan (Ambassador 1977-79)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/IA-diplomats.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]