The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

U.S. diplomatic chiefs of mission to Haiti

Benjamin F. Whidden (Commissioner 1862-65) H. E. Peck (Commissioner 1865-66) H. E. Peck (Minister 1866-67) Gideon H. Hollister (Minister 1868-69) Ebenezer D. Bassett (Minister 1869-77) John M. Langston (Minister 1877-85) John E. W. Thompson (Minister 1885-89) Frederick Douglass (Minister 1889-91) John S. Durham (Minister 1891-93) Henry M. Smythe (Minister 1893-97) William F. Powell (Minister 1897-1905) Henry W. Furniss (Minister 1905-13) Madison R. Smith (Minister 1913-14) Arthur Bailly-Blanchard (Minister 1914-21) Dana G. Munro (Minister 1930-32) Norman Armour (Minister 1932-33) Norman Armour (Minister 1933-35) George A. Gordon (Minister 1935-37) Ferdinand L. Mayer (Minister 1937-40) John Campbell White (Minister 1940-43) John Campbell White (Ambassador 1943-44) Orme Wilson (Ambassador 1944-46) Harold H. Tittmann, Jr. (Ambassador 1946-48) William E. DeCourcy (Ambassador 1948-50) Howard K. Travers (Ambassador 1951-52) Roy T. Davis (Ambassador 1953-57) Gerald A. Drew (Ambassador 1957-60) Robert Newbegin (Ambassador 1960-61) Raymond L. Thurston (Ambassador 1961-63) Benson E. L. Timmons (Ambassador 1963-67) Claude G. Ross (Ambassador 1967-69) Clinton E. Knox (Ambassador 1969-73) Heyward Isham (Ambassador 1973-77) William B. Jones (Ambassador 1977-80) Henry L. Kimelman (Ambassador 1980-81) Ernest H. Preeg (Ambassador 1981-83) Clayton E. McManaway, Jr. (Ambassador 1983-86) Brunson McKinley (Ambassador 1986-89) Alvin P. Adams, Jr. (Ambassador 1989-92) William L. Swing (Ambassador 1993-98) Timothy Michael Carney (Ambassador 1998-99) Brian Dean Curran (Ambassador 2000-)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/HT-diplomats.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]