The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

U.S. diplomatic chiefs of mission to Cuba

James G. Forbes (Special Diplomatic Agent 1821) Gilbert L. Thompson (Special Diplomatic Agent 1821) James Biddle (Special Diplomatic Agent 1822) Thomas Randall (Special Diplomatic Agent 1823-24) Richard K. Call (Special Diplomatic Agent 1829-30) William Shaler (Special Diplomatic Agent 1832) Jeremy Robinson (Special Diplomatic Agent 1832-34) Richard J. Cleveland (Special Diplomatic Agent 1833) Nicholas P. Trist (Special Diplomatic Agent 1834) Alexander H. Everett (Special Diplomatic Agent 1840) Tully R. Wise (Special Diplomatic Agent 1842) William Linn Brown (Special Diplomatic Agent 1846) Alexander Slidell McKenzie (Special Diplomatic Agent 1846) Charles Morris (Special Diplomatic Agent 1850) Foxhall A. Parker (Special Diplomatic Agent 1851) Charles W. Davis (Special Diplomatic Agent 1854) Thomas Biddle (Special Diplomatic Agent 1866) Herbert G. Squiers (Minister 1902-05) Edwin V. Morgan (Minister 1905-10) John B. Jackson (Minister 1910-11) Arthur M. Beaupré (Minister 1911-13) William E. Gonzales (Minister 1913-19) Boaz Long (Minister 1919-21) Enoch Crowder (Ambassador 1923-27) Noble Brandon Judah (Ambassador 1927-29) Harry F. Guggenheim (Ambassador 1929-33) Sumner Welles (Ambassador 1933) Jefferson Caffery (Ambassador 1934-37) J. Butler Wright (Ambassador 1937-39) George S. Messersmith (Ambassador 1940-42) Spruille Braden (Ambassador 1942-45) R. Henry Norweb (Ambassador 1945-48) Robert Butler (Ambassador 1948-51) Willard L. Beaulac (Ambassador 1951-53) Arthur Gardner (Ambassador 1953-57) Earl E. T. Smith (Ambassador 1957-59) Philip W. Bonsal (Ambassador 1959-60)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/CU-diplomats.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]