The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Costa Rica
Central America

U.S. diplomatic chiefs of mission to Costa Rica

Solon Borland (Minister 1853-54) Mirabeau B. Lamar (Minister 1858-59) Alexander Dimitry (Minister 1859-61) Charles N. Riotte (Minister 1861-67) Albert G. Lawrence (Minister 1867-68) Jacob B. Blair (Minister 1868-73) George Williamson (Minister 1873-79) Cornelius A. Logan (Minister 1879-82) Henry C. Hall (Minister 1882-89) Lansing B. Mizner (Minister 1889-90) Romualdo Pacheco (Minister 1890-91) Richard C. Shannon (Minister 1891-93) Lewis Baker (Minister 1893-97) William L. Merry (Minister 1897-1911) Lewis Einstein (Minister 1911) Edward J. Hale (Minister 1913-17) Roy T. Davis (Minister 1922-30) Charles C. Eberhardt (Minister 1930-33) Leo R. Sack (Minister 1933-37) William H. Hornibrook (Minister 1937-41) Arthur Bliss Lane (Minister 1941-42) Robert M. Scotten (Minister 1942-43) Fay A. Des Portes (Ambassador 1943-44) Hallett C. Johnson (Ambassador 1944-47) Walter J. Donnelly (Ambassador 1947) Nathaniel P. Davis (Ambassador 1947-49) Joseph Flack (Ambassador 1949-50) Philip B. Fleming (Ambassador 1951-53) Robert C. Hill (Ambassador 1953-54) Robert F. Woodward (Ambassador 1954-58) Whiting Willauer (Ambassador 1958-61) Raymond Telles (Ambassador 1961-67) Clarence A. Boonstra (Ambassador 1967-69) Walter C. Ploeser (Ambassador 1970-72) Viron P. Vaky (Ambassador 1972-74) Terence A. Todman (Ambassador 1974-77) Marvin Weissman (Ambassador 1977-80) Francis J. McNeil (Ambassador 1980-83) Curtin Winsor, Jr. (Ambassador 1983-85) Lewis Arthur Tambs (Ambassador 1985-87) Deane R. Hinton (Ambassador 1987-90) Luis Guinot, Jr. (Ambassador 1991-93) Peter Jon de Vos (Ambassador 1994-97) Thomas J. Dodd (Ambassador 1997-) John J. Danilovich (Ambassador 2001)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/CR-diplomats.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]