The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
South America

U.S. diplomatic chiefs of mission to Chile

Heman Allen of Colchester (Minister 1823-27) Samuel Larned (Charge d'Affaires 1828-29) John Hamm (Charge d'Affaires 1830-33) Richard Pollard (Charge d'Affaires 1834-42) John S. Pendleton (Charge d'Affaires 1842-44) William Crump (Charge d'Affaires 1844-47) Seth Barton (Charge d'Affaires 1847-49) Balie Peyton (Minister 1849-53) David A. Starkweather (Minister 1854-57) John Bigler (Minister 1857-61) Thomas H. Nelson (Minister 1861-66) Judson Kilpatrick (Minister 1866-70) Joseph P. Root (Minister 1870-73) Cornelius A. Logan (Minister 1873-76) Thomas A. Osborn (Minister 1877-81) Judson Kilpatrick (Minister 1881) Cornelius A. Logan (Minister 1882-85) William R. Roberts (Minister 1885-89) Patrick F. Egan (Minister 1889-93) James D. Porter, Jr. (Minister 1893-94) Edward H. Strobel (Minister 1894-97) Henry L. Wilson (Minister 1897-1904) John Hicks (Minister 1905-09) Thomas C. Dawson (Minister 1909) Henry P. Fletcher (Minister 1909-14) Henry P. Fletcher (Ambassador 1914-16) Joseph H. Shea (Ambassador 1916-21) William Miller Collier (Ambassador 1921-28) William S. Culbertson (Ambassador 1928-33) Hal H. Sevier (Ambassador 1933-35) Hoffman Philip (Ambassador 1935-37) Norman Armour (Ambassador 1938-39) Claude G. Bowers (Ambassador 1939-53) Willard L. Beaulac (Ambassador 1953-56) Cecil B. Lyon (Ambassador 1956-58) Walter Howe (Ambassador 1958-61) Robert F. Woodward (Ambassador 1961) Charles W. Cole (Ambassador 1961-64) Ralph A. Dungan (Ambassador 1964-67) Edward M. Korry (Ambassador 1967-71) Nathaniel Davis (Ambassador 1971-73) David H. Popper (Ambassador 1973-77) George W. Landau (Ambassador 1977-82) James D. Theberge (Ambassador 1982-85) Harry G. Barnes, Jr. (Ambassador 1985-88) Charles A. Gillespie, Jr. (Ambassador 1988-91) Curtis W. Kamman (Ambassador 1991-94) Gabriel Guerra-Mondragon (Ambassador 1994-) John O'Leary (Ambassador 1998)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/CE-diplomats.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]