The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

U.S. diplomatic chiefs of mission to Canada

Augustus Neale (Special Diplomatic Agent 1815-16) Samuel B. Barrel (Special Diplomatic Agent 1827) Aaron Vail (Special Diplomatic Agent 1838) Israel D. Andrews (Special Diplomatic Agent 1849-54) Preston King (Special Diplomatic Agent 1863) William Phillips (Minister 1927-29) Hanford MacNider (Minister 1930-32) Warren Delano Robbins (Minister 1933-35) Norman Armour (Minister 1935-38) Daniel C. Roper (Minister 1939) James H. R. Cromwell (Minister 1940) Jay Pierrepont Moffat (Minister 1940-43) Ray Atherton (Minister 1943) Ray Atherton (Ambassador 1943-48) Laurence A. Steinhardt (Ambassador 1948-50) Stanley Woodward (Ambassador 1950-53) R. Douglas Stuart (Ambassador 1953-56) Livingston T. Merchant (Ambassador 1956-58) Richard B. Wigglesworth (Ambassador 1958-60) Livingston T. Merchant (Ambassador 1961-62) W. Walton Butterworth (Ambassador 1962-68) Harold Francis Linder (Ambassador 1968-69) Adolph W. Schmidt (Ambassador 1969-74) William J. Porter (Ambassador 1974-75) Thomas O. Enders (Ambassador 1975-79) Kenneth M. Curtis (Ambassador 1979-81) Paul Heron Robinson, Jr. (Ambassador 1981-85) Thomas Michael Tolliver Niles (Ambassador 1985-89) Edward N. Ney (Ambassador 1989-92) Peter Barry Teeley (Ambassador 1992-93) James J. Blanchard (Ambassador 1993-96) Gordon D. Giffen (Ambassador 1997) Gordon D. Giffin (Ambassador 1997-2001) George G. Giffin (Ambassador 1997-) Paul Cellucci (Ambassador 2001-05) David C. Jacobson (Ambassador 2009-)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/CA-diplomats.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]